The 14 volumes of the Cambridge Ancient History provide thematic and chronological narratives of key events and issues in their respective periods. The authors of each volume are generally experts in their fields.
The Cambridge Dictionary of Classical Civilization
by Graham Shipley; Lin Foxhall; David Mattingly; John Vanderspoel
Call Number: REF DE 5 C28 2008
Publication Date: 2008-11-06
Few historical epochs have influenced the development of civilization to the extent that those of ancient Greece and Rome have. This Guide, with over 1700 entries and 500 illustrations, is a key reference work on both, covering all the main branches of ancient literature, art and institutions. In addition, it explores traditionally neglected areas such as dress, housing, minority groups and social relations.
Encyclopedia of Ancient Greece
by Nigel Wilson (Editor)
Call Number: REF DF 16 E52
Publication Date: 2005-10-31
Examining every aspect of the culture from antiquity to the founding of Constantinople in the early Byzantine era, this thoroughly cross-referenced and fully indexed work is written by an international group of scholars. This Encyclopedia is derived from the more broadly focused Encyclopedia of Greece and the Hellenic Tradition, the highly praised two-volume work. Newly edited by Nigel Wilson, this single-volume reference provides a comprehensive and authoritative guide to the political, cultural, and social life of the people and to the places, ideas, periods, and events that defined ancient Greece.
by G. W. Bowersock (Editor); Peter Brown (Editor); Oleg Grabar (Editor)
Call Number: REF DE 5 L29 1999
Publication Date: 1999-11-18
The first book of its kind, this richly informative and comprehensive guide to the world of late antiquity offers the latest scholarship to the researcher along with great reading pleasure to the browser. In eleven comprehensive essays and in over 500 encyclopedic entries, an international cast of experts provides essential information and fresh perspectives on the history and culture of an era marked by the rise of two world religions, unprecedented political upheavals that remade the map of the known world, and the creation of art of enduring glory.
The Oxford Classical Dictionary
by Simon Hornblower; Antony Spawforth; Esther Eidinow
Call Number: REF DE 5 O9 2012
Publication Date: 2012-05-04
For over sixty years, The Oxford Classical Dictionary has been the unrivalled one-volume reference in the field of classics. Now completely revised and updated to include the very latest research findings, developments, and publications, this highly acclaimed reference work will be the mostup-to-date and comprehensive dictionary available on all aspects of the classical era.
Covers late-Antiquity. Available in both print and electronic formats.
Theory for Classics
by Louise Hitchcock
Call Number: REF B 809.3 H58 2008
Publication Date: 2008-03-20
This student's guide is a clear and concise handbook to the key connections between Classical Studies and critical theory in the Twentieth century;Louise Hitchcock looks at the way Classics has been engaged across a number of disciplines. Beginning with four foundational figures - Freud, Marx, Nietzshe and Saussure;- Hitchcock goes on to provide guided introductions of the major theoretical thinkers of the past century, from Adorno to Williams. Each entry offers biographical, theoretical and bibliographical information along with a discussion of each figure's relevance to Classical Studies and suggestions for future research.