Theatre
This Guide provides a starting point for materials on theatre and performance.
About Encyclopedias and Dicationaries
Print or electronic reference sources can include encyclopedias, dictionaries, indexes and atlases. They can be an excellent source for locating specific information and facts, or summary essays on your topic.
Get a Definition
Search Oxford English Dictionary
Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
- Columbia Encyclopedia of Modern Drama (Print)"... covers the period from 1860 to the present. ... The distinctive feature of this encyclopedia is the emphasis it places on the cultural context of dramatic works and their authors." Reference (UW) PN 1861 C65 2007
- New York Times Theatre ReviewsReviews available between 1870 and 2000. For 2000 to current, consult our library databases. Reference (UW) PN 2277 N5 N59
- International Dictionary of Theatre byCall Number: PN 2035 I49 V.1 -3ISBN: 1558620958Publication Date: 1992-02-01The International Dictionary of Theatre is a three-volume work, international and historical in scope, covering the theatre from the festivals of ancient Greece to the productions, plays, players, directors and designers of the modern stage. The 3 volumes comprise 1500 entries, selected by an international advisory board.
The Oxford Dictionary of Plays by Call Number: PN 1625 P38 2005ISBN: 9780198604174Publication Date: 2005-06-02The Oxford Dictionary of Plays provides accessible, authoritative, handy, and illuminating information on 1000 of the best-known, most popular, and most important plays of world theatre. Each entry contains essential information including title, author, dates of composition and first performance, genre, composition of the cast, a synopsis of the plot, and a brief commentary. Local playwrights featured include Ray Lawler, Bruce Mason, James K. Baxter, Patrick White, Dorothy Hewitt and Louis Nowra. This is an ideal dictionary for students, scholars, theatre professionals - especially directors - amateur drama enthusiasts, and informed theatre-goers.
Continuum Companion to Twentieth-Century Theatre by Call Number: PN 2035 C65 2002ISBN: 9780826476159Publication Date: 2004-11-01International in scope, this book is designed to be the pre-eminent reference work on the English-speaking theatre in the twentieth century.- Dictionary of the Theatre byCall Number: Ref PN 2035 P313 1998ISBN: 9781442673908Publication Date: 1999-01-01
- Contemporary theatre, film, and television.Call Number: PN 2285 C58
Encyclopedia of Stage Lighting by Call Number: PN 2091 E4B66 2003ISBN: 9780786415120Publication Date: 2003-07-01If one does not know who a snuff-boy was or how his job related to stage lighting, or needs to understand the difference between motivated light and motivating light, the answers can be found in the more than 1500 detailed entries of this encyclopedia, which is ideal for students, teachers, lighting technicians, lighting designers and all others who have an interest in stage lighting. Some of the numerous topics covered are equipment, methods, concepts, design process, electricity, characteristics of light, and lightboard operations. Where applicable, entries present both the historical and current day significance of the apparatus or concept being introduced. In addition, the many areas of stage lighting that elicit debate are viewed from all angles and the various options presented. This approach will allow the reader to make a personal evaluation of the most appropriate method. Entries are extensively cross-referenced. Computer-generated line drawings and samples of lighting paperwork are included with the entries to which they relate.
- Dictionary of Literary Biography Online (DLB) [Gale] This link opens in a new windowThe Dictionary of Literary Biography Online provides access to biographical and critical essays on the lives, works, and careers of the world's most influential literary figures from all eras and genres.
- Canadian Theatre Encyclopedia"The Canadian Theatre Encyclopedia on the WWW was a project begun by Gaetan Charlebois, a theatre editor with Hour Magazine (Montreal), in 1993. The idea of the project is to keep an ongoing, highly accessible, database of information about Canadian actors, playwrights, directors, producers, designers, theatre organizations and institutions, composers and plays available to the world. The site will be continually under construction with information changing as résumés change, deaths occur and profiles rise. The Canadian Theatre Encyclopedia is maintained by Athabasca University as a service to the Canadian theatre community."
Copyright