Business and Administration
business and management principles, including the fundamentals of accounting, human resources, leadership and strategy, marketing, and operations management
Handbooks
Handbook of Employee Selection by
The Handbook of Employee Selection provides a comprehensive review of a) contemporary personnel selection instruments, including the technical methodology for their development and evaluation of their effectiveness, b) the organizational systems necessary for the effective and efficient use of personnel selection methods as part of organizations human resource management approach, and c) the societal and organizational factors that provide the context within which personnel selection is nested. The Handbook will include descriptions of specific examples of personnel selection procedures that have had major impact on the development of personnel selection function within organizations, as well as discussions of current and future trends in employee selection around the world.
Call Number: Reference (UW) HF 5549.5 S38H36 2010ISBN: 9780805864373Publication Date: 2010
Handbook of Quantitative Finance and Risk Management by
"Quantitative finance is a combination of economics, accounting, statistics, econometrics, mathematics, stochastic process, and computer science and technology. Increasingly, the tools of financial analysis are being applied to assess, monitor, and mitigate risk, especially in the context of globalization, market volatility, and economic crisis. This two-volume handbook, comprised of over 100 chapters, is the most comprehensive resource in the field to date, integrating the most current theory, methodology, policy, and practical applications. Showcasing contributions from an international array of experts, the Handbook of Quantitative Finance and Risk Management is unparalleled in the breadth and depth of its coverage. Volume 1 presents an overview of quantitative finance and risk management research, covering the essential theories, policies, and empirical methodologies used in the field. Chapters provide in-depth discussion of portfolio theory and investment analysis. Volume 2 covers options and option pricing theory and risk management. Volume 3 presents a wide variety of models and analytical tools. Throughout, the handbook offers illustrative case examples, worked equations, and extensive references; additional features include chapter abstracts, keywords, and author and subject indices. From "arbitrage" to "yield spreads," the Handbook of Quantitative Finance and Risk Management will serve as an essential resource for academics, educators, students, policymakers, and practitioners."
ISBN: 9780387771175Publication Date: 2010
Handbook on Women in Business and Management by
The handbook will be an essential reference source for recent advances in research and theory, informing both scholars of organization studies, gender, diversity, and feminism; human resource specialists; and educators of and consultants to business organizations and management.
Contents: Introduction; Part I: Societal Roles and Contexts of Women in Business and Management; Part II: Career and Work Life Issues of Women in Business and Management; Part III: Organizational Processes Affecting Women in Business and Management; Part IV: Women as Leaders in Business and Management; Index
ISBN: 9781845424329Publication Date: 2007
The SAGE Handbook of Organizational Behavior by
"This milestone Handbook brings together an impressive collection of international contributions on micro and macro research in organizational behavior.
The SAGE Handbook of Organizational Behavior, Volume One provides students and scholars with an insightful and wide-reaching survey of the current state of the field and is an indispensible road map to the subject area.
Volume Two of The SAGE Handbook of Organizational Behavior focuses on macro-organizational behaviour, revealing ways in which the person and group affect the organization."
Call Number: Main Stacks (UW) HD 58.7 S233 2008 v.1-v.2ISBN: 9781847875877Publication Date: 2009
The Social Media Management Handbook by
A comprehensive guide to managing social media efforts internally within organizations. Social media is extremely difficult to implement and manage on an organization-wide basis because it's so new and organizations lack the expertise, and tools to evolve it.
ISBN: 9780470651247Publication Date: 2011
Career Handbook and National Occupational Classification (CANADA)
- National Occupational Classification (NOC)The National Occupational Classification (NOC) is Canada’s national system for describing occupations. You can search the NOC to find where an occupation is classified or to learn about its main duties, educational requirements or other useful information. The National Occupational Classification (NOC), provides a standardized language for describing the work performed by Canadians in the labour market. It gives statisticians, labour market analysts, career counselors, employers and individual job seekers a consistent way to collect data and describe and understand the nature of work.
- Career Handbook - 2015The Career Handbook is the counselling component of the National Occupational Classification (NOC) system.
Marketing Scales Handbook Series
Marketing Scales Handbook, volumes 1-3 by Call Number: HF 5415.3 B785 v.1-v.3ISBN: 9780877572619Publication Date: 1996-Marketing Scales Handbook, the second volume of this series, lists 423 scales that have been used in consumer-related studies; advertising-related research studies; and sales management, channels, and other organizational studies. From the four-year period of 1990 to 1993, scales from eight journals were selected and are included in this new comprehensive volume. Following the first volume, this handbook facilitates the development of questionnaires by providing examples of previously used scales and their psychometric characteristics. It lists the scale's name, its description and origin, samples, the scale's reliability and validity, the manner in which the scale was administered to a sample, the results associated with the scale, comments, references, and the items of each scale.
Marketing Scales Handbook, volume 5 by ISBN: 9780615273273Publication Date: 2009The largest book of its kind available, Volume 5 of the Marketing Scales Handbook series provides descriptions and reviews of 716 summated scales which were used to measure consumption-related constructs such as brand attitude, satisfaction, purchase intention, and attitude-toward-the-ad. Scales reviewed in this volume were published in the top marketing journals during the years 2002-2005. This is the last book in the series to provide cumulative reviews of the most used scales up to that point along with newly introduced scales.
Marketing Scales Handbook, volume 6 by ISBN: 9780615630687Publication Date: 2012This sixth volume in the series reviews 682 consumer-related measurement scales that were reported in top marketing journal articles published from 2006 to 2009. Each review provides the scale items as well as information regarding the scale's origin, previous users, and measurement quality.
Marketing Scales Handbook, volume 10 by ISBN: 9780578470023Publication Date: 2019The Marketing Scales Handbook series is the longest-running set of books that provides reviews of multi-item measures used in scholarly studies of consumer behavior. This volume begins where Volume 9 ended and has new reviews of 402 scales that were reported in top marketing journals. These scales are new to the series and were not in any of the previous volumes. Each review provides the scale items (questions, statements, or semantic differentials) as well as information about the measure's origin, previous users, and measurement quality. The bulk of the scales in this book focus on topics well known in the fields of marketing and consumer science such as products, branding, advertising, retailing, and purchasing. Measures of many other topics are covered as well, including benevolence, co-production, corporate social responsibility, food, emotions, engagement, environmentalism, games, health, personality traits, satisfaction, social media, websites, and word-of-mouth.The book, along with the rest of the series, is a valuable resource to researchers in a variety of fields who want statistically reliable measures for use in their studies of consumers or similar groups such as viewers, clients, patients, or citizens. Instead of using simplistic measures of dubious quality or, at the other extreme, having to build, test, and refine measures from scratch, researchers can use the book's contents to borrow from the experts who have already crafted quality metrics. By using better measures, the precision of analyses is increased and should improve the decisions based upon the results.
Marketing Scales Handbook by Call Number: HF 5415.2 B786 2013ISBN: 9781482779912Publication Date: 2013Which measurement scales have been used the most in consumer insight research? Dr. Bruner, author of the classic Marketing Scales Handbook series, set out to answer that question. After reviewing several thousand multi-item measures used in scholarly research of consumer issues, it was clear that some scales had been used much more than others. Twenty of those are the focus of the book. Not only do these "top 20" indicate what is popular with marketing scholars but the book provides details about how to precisely measure some of the most important individual factors that shape consumer behavior including attitude toward the ad, attitude toward the brand, purchase intention, satisfaction, and loyalty. The book is meant for researchers in a variety of fields who want reliable measures for their surveys and/or experiments. Instead of using simplistic measures of dubious quality or, at the other extreme, having to build and refine measures from scratch, researchers can use the book to learn from the experts who have already crafted quality measures. By using better scales, accuracy is increased which, thereby, improves the results of analyses and the decisions based upon them.
Oxford Handbooks in Business and Management
The Oxford Handbook of Asian Business Systems by
Much of the existing literature within the "varieties of capitalism" (VOC) and "comparative business systems" fields of research is heavily focused on Europe, Japan, and the Anglo-Saxon nations. As a result, the field has yet to produce a detailed empirical picture of the institutional structures of most Asian nations and to explore to what extent existing theory applies to the Asian context. The Oxford Handbook of Asian Business Systems aims to address this imbalance by exploring the shape and consequences of institutional variations across the political economies of different societies within Asia. Drawing on the deep knowledge of 32 leading experts, this book presents an empirical, comparative institutional analysis of 13 major Asian business systems between India and Japan. To aid comparison, each country chapter follows the same consistent outline. Complementing the country chapters are eleven contributions examining major themes across the region in comparative perspective and linking the empirical picture to existing theory on these themes. A further three chapters provide perspectives on the influence of history and institutional change. The concluding chapters spell out the implications of all these chapters for scholars in the field and for business practitioners in Asia.The Handbook is a major reference work for scholars researching the causes of success and failure in international business in Asia.
ISBN: 9780199654925Publication Date: 2014-01-28
The Oxford Handbook of Corporate Governance by
The behavior of managers-such as the rewards they obtain for poor performance, the role of boards of directors in monitoring managers, and the regulatory framework covering the corporate governance mechanisms that are put in place to ensure managers' accountability to shareholder and other stakeholders-has been the subject of extensive media and policy scrutiny in light of the financial crisis of the early 2000s. However, corporate governance covers a much broader set of issues, which requires detailed assessment as a central issue of concern to business and society. Critiques of traditional governance research based on agency theory have noted its "under-contextualized" nature and its inability to compare accurately and explain the diversity of corporate governance arrangements across different institutional contexts. The Oxford Handbook of Corporate Governance aims at closing these theoretical and empirical gaps. It considers corporate governance issues at multiple levels of analysis-the individual manager, firms, institutions, industries, and nations-and presents international evidence to reflect the wide variety of perspectives. In analyzing the effects of corporate governance on performance, a variety of indicators are considered, such as accounting profit, economic profit, productivity growth, market share, proxies for environmental and social performance, such as diversity and other aspects of corporate social responsibility, and of course, share price effects. In addition to providing a high level review and analysis of the existing literature, each chapter develops an agenda for further research on a specific aspect of corporate governance. This Handbook constitutes the definitive source of academic research on corporate governance, synthesizing studies from economics, strategy, international business, organizational behavior, entrepreneurship, business ethics, accounting, finance, and law.
ISBN: 9780199642007Publication Date: 2013-05-19
The Oxford Handbook of Gender in Organizations by
The Oxford Handbook of Gender in Organizations is a comprehensive analysis of thinking and research on gender in organizations with original contributions from key international scholars in the field. It looks at the theoretical roots and potential for theoretical development in this field; examines leadership and management and the gender issues arising in this field; considers the gendered nature of careers; and lastly assesses masculinity inorganizations. In bringing together a broad range of research and thinking on gender in organizations across a number of disciplines, sub-disciplines, and conceptual perspectives, the Handbook provides a comprehensiveview of both contemporary thinking and future research directions.
ISBN: 9780199658213Publication Date: 2014-05-13
The Oxford Handbook of Innovation Management by
The Handbook of Innovation Management is a comprehensive guide to the principles and practices of managing innovation. While innovation is widely recognized as being critical to organizational success and the well-being of societies, it requires careful management to ensure that innovation processes have the best possible impact. This volume provides a wide range of perspectives on the nature of innovation management and its influences.
ISBN: 9780199694945Publication Date: 2014-02-28
The Oxford Handbook of Internet Studies by
Internet Studies has been one of the most dynamic and rapidly expanding interdisciplinary fields to emerge over the last decade. The Oxford Handbook of Internet Studies provides a valuable resource for academics and students in this area, bringing together leading scholarly perspectives on how the Internet has been studied with views of how the research agenda should be pursued in the future. Topics covered include social perspectives on the technology ofthe Internet, its role in everyday life and work, implications for communication, power, and influence, and the governance and regulation of the Internet. The Handbook is a landmark in this new interdisciplinary field.
Call Number: HM 1017 H36 2013ISBN: 9780199589074Publication Date: 2013-03-01
The Oxford Handbook of Management Theorists by
The Oxford Handbook of Management Theorists critically reviews the ideas and influence of twenty-five seminal figures in the field, past and present, examining the evolvement of their theories in their context, analysing their actions, interactions, and re-actions to contemporary events and to each other. It is arranged in three parts: pioneers of management thinking from Frederick Taylor to Chester Barnard; post-war theorists, such as the TavistockInstitute and Edith Penrose; and the later phase of Business School theorists, including Alfred Chandler, Michael Porter, and Ikujiro Nonaka. This book will be essential reading for anyone interested in how and why management ideas have emerged, and the ways in which they are currently developing and will evolvein the future.
ISBN: 9780199585762Publication Date: 2013-05-08
The Oxford Handbook of Diversity and Work by ISBN: 9780199344024Publication Date: 2012-12-10
Other Selected Business-Related Handbooks
Handbook of Causal Analysis for Social Research by
What constitutes a causal explanation, and must an explanation be causal?aWhat warrants a causal inference, as opposed to a descriptive regularity?aWhat techniques are available to detect when causal effects are present, and when can these techniques be used to identify the relative importance of these effects?aWhat complications do the interactions of individuals create for these techniques?aWhen can mixed methods of analysis be used to deepen causal accounts?aMust causal claims include generative mechanisms, and how effective are empirical methods designed to discover them?aThe Handbook of Causal Anlaysis for Social Research tackles these questions with nineteen chapters from leading scholars in sociology, statistics, public health, computer science, and human development.aa"
ISBN: 9789400760943Publication Date: 2013-01-01
Handbook of Group Decision and Negotiation by
The field of Group Decision and Negotiation can be described as the empirical, formal, computational, and strategic analysis of group decision-making and negotiation, especially from the points of view of Management Science and Operations Research. Group Decision and Negotiation crosses many traditional disciplinary boundaries, and has connections to business administration and business strategy, management science, systems engineering, computer science, mathematics, and law, as well as economics, psychology, and other social sciences. The Handbook of Group Decision and Negotiation is intended to become the major reference in the field. The only current references are the highly successful journal Group Decision and Negotiation, as well as the books of the Advances in Group Decision and Negotiation series, and a few other journals. Researchers, students, and practitioners in this growing field sorely need a good general reference.
ISBN: 9789048190973Publication Date: 2010-01-01
Essentials of Risk Theory by
Risk has become one of the main topics in fields as diverse as engineering, medicine and economics, and it is also studied by social scientists, psychologists and legal scholars. This SpringerEssentials versionoffers an overview of the in-depth handbook and highlights some of the main points covered in the Handbook of Risk Theory. The topic of risk also leads to more fundamental questions such as: What is risk? What can decision theory contribute to the analysis of risk? What does the human perception of risk mean for society? How should we judge whether a risk is morally acceptable or not? Over the last couple of decades questions like these have attracted interest from philosophers and other scholars into risk theory. This brief offers the essentials of the handbook provides for an overview into key topics in a major new field of research andaddresses a wide range of topics, ranging from decision theory, risk perception to ethics and social implications of risk. It aims to promote communication and information among all those who are interested in theoretical issues concerning risk and uncertainty. TheEssentials of Risk Theorybrings together internationally leading philosophers and scholars from other disciplines who work on risk theory. The contributions are accessibly written and highly relevant to issues that are studied by risk scholars. The Essentials of Risk Theory will be a helpful starting point for all risk scholars who are interested in broadening and deepening their current perspectives?
ISBN: 9789400754553Publication Date: 2013-01-01
Handbook of the Philosophical Foundations of Business Ethics by
The Handbook of Business Ethics: Philosophical Foundations is a standard interdisciplinary reference handbook in the field of business ethics. Articles by notable philosophers and economists examine fundamental concepts, theories and questions of business ethics: Are morality and self-interest compatible? What is meant by a just price? What did the Scholastic philosophers think about business?The handbook will cover the entire philosophical basis of business ethics. Articles range from historical positions such as Aristotelianism, Kantianism and Marxism to systematic issues like justice, religious issues, rights and globalisation or gender.The book is intended as a reference work for academics, students (esp. graduate), and professionals.
ISBN: 9789400714946Publication Date: 2012-10-09
Handbook of the Social Psychology of Inequality by
This volume provides the first comprehensive overview of social psychological research on inequality for a graduate student and professional audience. Drawing on all of the major theoretical traditions in sociological social psychology, its chapters demonstrate the relevance of social psychological processes to this central sociological concern. Each chapter in the volume has a distinct substantive focus, but the chapters will also share common emphases on: ? The unique contributions of sociological social psychology ? The historical roots of social psychological concepts and theories in classic sociological writings ? The complementary and conflicting insights that derive from different social psychological traditions in sociology. This Handbook is of interest to graduate students preparing for careers in social psychology or in inequality, professional sociologists and university/college libraries.
ISBN: 9789401790024Publication Date: 2014-01-01
Handbook of Social Indicators and Quality of Life Research by
The aim of the Handbook of Social Indicators and Quality of Life Research is to create an overview of the field of Quality of Life (QOL) studies in the early years of the 21st century that can be updated and improved upon as the field evolves and the century unfolds. Social indicators are statistical time series "...used to monitor the social system, helping to identify changes and to guide intervention to alter the course of social change". Examples include unemployment rates, crime rates, estimates of life expectancy, health status indices, school enrollment rates, average achievement scores, election voting rates, and measures of subjective well-being such as satisfaction with life-as-a-whole and with specific domains or aspects of life. This book provides a review of the historical development of the field including the history of QOL in medicine and mental health as well as the research related to quality-of-work-life (QWL) programs. It discusses several of QOL main concepts: happiness, positive psychology, and subjective wellbeing. Relations between spirituality and religiousness and QOL are examined as are the effects of educational attainment on QOL and marketing, and the associations with economic growth. The book goes on to investigate methodological approaches and issues that should be considered in measuring and analysing quality of life from a quantitative perspective. The final chapters are dedicated to research on elements of QOL in a broad range of countries and populations.
ISBN: 9789400724204Publication Date: 2011-11-26
Handbook of Social Movements Across Disciplines by
This book aims to revisit the interdisciplinary roots of social movement studies. Each discipline raises its own questions and approaches the subject from a different angle or perspective. The chapters of this handbook are written by internationally renowned scholars representing the various disciplines involved. They each review the approach their sector has developed and discuss their disciplines contributions and insights to the knowledge of social movements. Furthermore, each chapter addresses the 'unanswered questions' and discusses the overlaps with other fields as well as reviewing the interdisciplinary advances so far.
ISBN: 9780387709604Publication Date: 2007-01-01
Copyright