Business and Administration
Entrepreneurship Reference Works
Handbook of Entrepreneurship by ISBN: 9780387236223Publication Date: 2005Though many scholars of entrepreneurship have cautioned and even argued strongly against limiting the focus of research to the entrepreneur (Gartner, 1988; Low and MacMillan, 1988), the last two decades have nonetheless seen an increased focus on the individual and that individual's recognition of opportunities in the study of entrepreneurship (Venkataraman, 1997). While many of these articles have been fruitful to increasing our understanding of the challenges entrepreneurs face, numerous important topics, particularly those with more relevance to scholarship and theory than to the practice of entrepreneurship, have been left underdeveloped. In the Handbook of Entrepreneurship Research: Disciplinary Perspectives, we strive to increase awareness and stimulate research on these topics in the literature on entrepreneurship.
Handbook of Entrepreneurship Research by ISBN: 9781441911919Publication Date: 2010Contents include: Debates in entrepreneurship : opportunity formation and implications for the field of entrepreneurship; An update to the individual-opportunity nexus; Three views of entrepreneurial opportunity; Entrepreneurial behavior : firm organizing processes; Corporate entrepreneurship : an introduction and research review; High-impact entrepreneurship; Equity financing; Market processes and entrepreneurial studies; Entrepreneurship, business culture and the theory of the firm; Knowledge spillover entrepreneurship; Risk and uncertainty; Looking forward, looking backward : from entrepreneurial cognition to neuroentrepreneurship; The social psychology of entrepreneurial behavior; Entrepreneurship as social construction : a multilevel evolutionary approach; International business, entrepreneurship and the global economy; The globalization of innovation and entrepreneurial talent; Entrepreneurship in developing countries; The geography of entrepreneurship; The impact of entrepreneurship on economic growth; Entrepreneurship and public policy; Connecting the study of entrepreneurship and theories of capitalist progress : an epilog
Databases
- ABI/INFORM Collection [ProQuest] This link opens in a new windowThe ABI/INFORM Collection features full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals, country-and industry-focused reports, and major news sources. Its international coverage gives researchers a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world.
- Business Source Premier [EBSCOhost] This link opens in a new windowBusiness Source Premier is a research database providing database containing citations, abstracts, ebooks, and journal articles in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, finance and economics.
- CBCA [ProQuest] This link opens in a new windowCBCA (Canadian Business & Current Affairs Database) is a Canadian periodical collection covering multiple subjects and topics. It features a diversified mix of publications, including scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, reports, radio and television transcripts, news, dissertations, and more.
What is Entrepreneurship?
Entrepreneurship is all about finding and developing a sustainable business concept. The word is derived from the French Entreprendre, or "to undertake."
The success or failure of a business depends largely on the quality of the business plan. The following are key steps in the development of a business plan:
- Survey the business environment.
- Examine the industry.
- Research the market conditions.
This Course page is designed to help students use appropriate library resources to develop a business plan.
Industry Information
What industry are you in?
The North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) can help you define your industry. Each industry is given a number. This number can be used to locate industry specific information in a variety of databases.
Who else is in your industry (Competitors, Suppliers, etc.)?
The Canadian Company Capabilities (CCC) is a database of over 60,000 Canadian businesses.
SEDAR (System for Electronic Document Analysis and Retrieval) Provides access to most public securities documents and information filed by public companies.
Financial Data
Use the SME Benchmarking Tool to generate an industry report.
Students can get more detailed financial information, such as the Financial Performance Indicators for Canadian Business and the Canadian Business Patterns, through the Data Librarian (Ian Fraser, i.fraser@uwinnipeg.ca, 204.786.9813).
Market Research
Who is your customer? Characteristics such as age, sex, income, and expenditures are key factors for the entrepreneur. Other industry specific factors such as health, recreation, travel, etc., are also important. Here are some resources to learn about your demographic:
Canadian Demographics at a Glance
Statistics Canada Offers the following free summary tables related to Canadian Household Expenditures:
Other aspects of the Survey of Household Expenditures can be obtained throught the Data Librarian (Ian Fraser, i.fraser@uwinnipeg.ca, 204.786.9813)
The Geography of Markets
Location, Location, Location! Some enterprises thrive in one location and fail in another. Where you decide to sell your product is just as important as what you decide to sell.
Local
For information about specific Winnipeg neighbourhoods, try the 2006 Winnipeg Neighbourhood Profiles. This will give you Census data down to a precise area of the city.
National
The 2006 Community Profiles (StatsCan) will give some key indicators about who lives in your community.
The Statistics Canada Census Tract (CT) Profiles allow you to search for census information about small geographic areas.
International
The TCS offers a free database of market reports on a wide range of locations, including intelligence on prominent industries in each market. You can access this free service by region or by sector. See Spotlight on Market Research for more.
Data Sources
- Survey of Employment, Payrolls and Hours (SEPH)The Survey of Employment, Payrolls and Hours provides a monthly portrait of the amount of earnings as well as the number of jobs (i.e., occupied positions), vacant positions, and hours worked, by detailed industry, at the national, provincial and territorial levels.