Applied Computer Science
Librarian
Subscription Databases (UWinnipeg community only)
A number of key Computer Science databases are listed below, but additional database resources can be found on the database page for Applied Computer Science. Please rate the databases listed below and feel free to comment on other databases you would like to have added to this guide.
- ACM Digital LibraryThe ACM (Association for Computing Machinery) Digital Library includes the fulltext of most of the Association's publications since its founding in 1947, together with selected works published by affiliated organizations.
- Nature OnlineNature is a weekly international journal publishing the finest peer-reviewed research in all fields of science and technology on the basis of its originality, importance, interdisciplinary interest, timeliness, accessibility, and surprising conclusions.
- Wiley Library OnlineA collection of 370 fulltext scholarly journals in PDF, with holdings mostly starting in 1996. There are at least a dozen computer-related journals and many more that overlap with computing as applied to other sciences.
- Academic Search PremierAcademic Search Elite provides access to a number of general and popular computing titles. Though it does not provide access to the full text of the IEEE journals, a number of them are indexed in this database and can be requested via InterLibrary Loan.
- Web of Science [Web of Science] This link opens in a new windowWeb of Science is a platform that provides access to citations, abstracts, and conference proceedings allowing for in-depth exploration of fields within the sciences, social sciences, arts and humanities. It enables users to search current and retrospective multidisciplinary information from many research journals. It also provides a unique search method, cited reference searching, which users can navigate forward, backward, and through the literature, searching all disciplines and time spans to uncover all the information relevant to their research. Other unique features this database possesses are Analyze Results, and Create Citation Reports.
ACM Queue Feature Articles
Journal of Scientific Computing
Open Access Journals
While our subscription databases will often include open access content, the links below provide access to list of freely available journal content.
Also, see a number of online Bibliographies under the Reference Resources section for journal articles and many other resources such as technical reports, theses, and ebooks.
- Directory of Open Access Journals: Computer ScienceCompiled by Lund University Libraries, the DOAJ lists free, full-text scholarly journals.
- Arxiv.org CoRRArxiv.org Computing Research Repository.
Requesting an Interlibrary Loan
The InterLibrary Loan service provides access to material not held in the University of Winnipeg Library. This service is available to students and faculty and staff members with a valid library card. The University of Winnipeg Library participates in several provincial, regional and national resource sharing agreements that extend users' access to materials held by other libraries.
You can place InterLibrary Loan requests by using one of these forms:
- article request form
- book request form
- conference proceedings request form
- technical report request form
There are also Request an InterLibrary Loan and Find Text links that you may find in our catalogue and databases when you discover a resource that is not held or unavailable at UWinnipeg. You can these links and it may take a few seconds to search for the item at other institutions. You may view a list of institutions where this item is available, or simply proceed. Upon entering your barcode, your request is placed and a confirmation message will be sent.