Statistics (Mathematical)
Finding a Particular Article
If you have the citation of an article, you can use the library's Journal Search to see if it's available in the library. Search for the Journal Title, then choose the database with the right volume and year.
Now navigate to volume, issue, and page number of your article. Remember, you will need to know the complete citation of an article to find it via the Journal Search.
Look for a Full-text link (PDF or HTML).
Searching the Databases
If you are looking for articles about a certain topic, you will want to search for the topic in one of our subscription Databases. You can select a broad, multi-disciplinary database (like the Popular Databases) or a narrow, subject-specific database (for example Mathematics & Statistics).
Different databases will look different, but they are all designed to help you find Journal Articles. Try searching for your topic keywords. Explore the features that allow you to limit your results by Publication Date, Language, etc.
When you find an article you're interested in, look for a Full-text link (PDF or HTML). If there is no link to the full-text, try using the Find Text button. This will search through our other databases to see if the full-text is available elsewhere. if none of our databases have the full-text, you will have to request an Interlibrary Loan.
- Web of Science [Web of Science] This link opens in a new windowWeb of Science is a platform that provides access to citations, abstracts, and conference proceedings allowing for in-depth exploration of fields within the sciences, social sciences, arts and humanities. It enables users to search current and retrospective multidisciplinary information from many research journals. It also provides a unique search method, cited reference searching, which users can navigate forward, backward, and through the literature, searching all disciplines and time spans to uncover all the information relevant to their research. Other unique features this database possesses are Analyze Results, and Create Citation Reports.
- MathSciNet: Mathematical Reviews This link opens in a new windowMathSciNet is a database of reviews, abstracts and bibliographic information for much of the mathematical sciences literature. It contains items classified according to the Mathematics Subject Classification, and would be of interest to the subject areas of mathematics, history of mathematics, and computer science.
- Current Index to Statistics This link opens in a new windowThe Current Index to Statistics is a bibliographic index to publications in statistics, probability, and related fields.
- SpringerLink Online This link opens in a new windowSpringer Link is a multidisciplinary collection of peer-reviewed journals, ebooks and reference works published by SpringerNature. It contains material across a range of disciplines from the sciences, social sciences and humanities.
Requesting an Interlibrary Loan
Interlibrary Loan Requests can be submitted one of two ways:
- by filling out a request form on our website.
- using the Find Text link in one of our databases.
For example, if, when searching in an Ebsco database, you discover a resource that is unavailable here at the UofW, you can click Request an Interlibrary Loan. It will take few seconds to search for the item at other institutions. You may view a list of institutions where this item is available, or simply proceed. Upon entering your barcode, your request is placed.
Interlibrary loan materials may take a week or longer to arrive, so please have patience. If you item has not arrived within ten days, contact the Interlibrary Loan department at 786-9814.