Environmental Studies and Sciences
Librarian
Search the Reference Collection
The reference collection is a great place to begin your research. These short relevant articles will give the basic understanding you need to formulate a good research question.
Dictionaries & Encyclopedias
The University of Winnipeg Library has many dictionaries and encyclopedias that can help you find information about your topic. Some of the most useful ones for Environmental Studies students are:
- The Oxford handbook of environmental historyWith 25 essays, this Handbook is global in scope and innovative in organization, looking at the field thematically through such categories as climate, disease, oceans, the body, energy, consumerism, and international relations.
- Dictionary and introduction to global environmental governanceThis unique dictionary and introduction to global environmental governance provides a compilation of over 5000 terms, organizations and acronyms, drawn from hundreds of official sources.
- Encyclopedia of environmental ethics and philosophyThe Encyclopedia of Environmental Ethics and Philosophy addresses the needs of upper high school students, undergraduate researchers, teachers and professors, as well as general readers by examining the philosophical and ethical issues underlying contemporary and historical environmental issues, policies, and debates.
- Encyclopedia of life scienceseLS features over 4,800 specially commissioned, peer-reviewed and citable articles in the life sciences and is a valuable resource for undergraduates, graduate students and researchers.
- Encyclopedia of paleoclimatology and ancient environmentsThis useful resource provides the reader with an entry point to the rapidly expanding field of paleoclimatology—the study of climates of the past.
- World Bank eAtlas of global developmentThe World Bank eAtlas of Global Development maps and graphs more than 175 thematically organized indicators for over 200 countries, letting you visualize and compare progress on the most important development challenges facing our world.
Shelf Browsing
Environemntal Studies consists of many different subject areas. If you want to browse either the reference (main floor) or regular (upstairs) collections to find material, I would suggest that you look in the following sections:
GE 1-350 - Env. sciences
GE 70-90 - Env. education
GE 170-190 - Env. policy
GE 195-199 - Green movement
GE 300-350 - Env. management
Other area that may be of interest are listed on the Biology and Chemistry subject guides.