Environmental Studies and Sciences
Librarian
Searching the Databases
If you are looking for articles about a certain topic, you will want to search for the topic in one of our subscription Databases. You can select a broad, multi-disciplinary database or a narrow, subject-specific database (for example Environmental Studies and Sciences).
Different databses will look different, but they are all designed to help you find Journal Articles. Try searching for your topic keywords. Explore the features that allow you to limit your results by Publication Date, Language, etc.
When you find an article you're interested in, look for a Full-text link (PDF or HTML). If there is no link to the full-text, try using the Get Access button. This will search through our other databases to see if the full-text is available elsewhere. if none of our databases have the full-text, you can request an Interlibrary Loan.
- Academic Search Premier [EBSCOhost] This link opens in a new windowAcademic Search Premier is a multidisciplinary database containing citations and abstracts, ebooks, journal articles in nearly every area of academic study. Subject areas include: Computer sciences, education, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts and literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies, and many more.
- ProQuest Central [ProQuest] This link opens in a new windowProQuest Central is a multidisciplinary journal and news resource that brings together databases across many major subject areas; including Business, Health and Medical, Language and Literature, Social Sciences, Education, Science and Technology. It also contains core titles in the Performing and Visual Arts, History, Religion, Philosophy, and as well as thousands of full-text newspapers from around the world.
- ScienceDirect [Elsevier] This link opens in a new windowScienceDirect is a multidisciplinary collection of peer-reviewed journals published by Elsevier. It contains material across the disciplines of sciences, and social sciences.
- SpringerLink Online This link opens in a new windowSpringer Link is a multidisciplinary collection of peer-reviewed journals, ebooks and reference works published by SpringerNature. It contains material across a range of disciplines from the sciences, social sciences and humanities.
- Web of Science [Web of Science] This link opens in a new windowWeb of Science is a platform that provides access to citations, abstracts, and conference proceedings allowing for in-depth exploration of fields within the sciences, social sciences, arts and humanities. It enables users to search current and retrospective multidisciplinary information from many research journals. It also provides a unique search method, cited reference searching, which users can navigate forward, backward, and through the literature, searching all disciplines and time spans to uncover all the information relevant to their research. Other unique features this database possesses are Analyze Results, and Create Citation Reports.
- GreenFILE [EBSCOhost] This link opens in a new windowGreenFILE is an indexing and abstracting database covering aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
- Natural Science Collection [ProQuest] This link opens in a new windowThe Natural Science Collection is a resource for the discovery of relevant scholarly research and technical literature critical to the discipline. It provides full-text titles from around the world for scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, government publications, and more.
- Canadian Public Policy [desLibris]
Discontinued, see Canada Commons.
Canadian Public Policy is a growing collection of documents and ebooks from Canadian public policy institutes, government agencies, advocacy groups, think-tanks, university research centres and other public interest groups. These publications are important to the understanding of developing issues in every arena of Canadian public life.
Finding a Particular Article
If you have the citation of an article, you can use the library's Journal Search to see if it's available in the library. Search for the Journal Title, then choose the database with the right volume and year.
Now navigate to volume, issue, and page number of your article. Remember, you will need to know the complete citation of an article to find it via the Journal Search.
Look for a Full-text link (PDF or HTML).