Sustainable Cities
Finding Peer-Reviewed Articles
Most of your assignments at the UW will require that you include at least some scholarly, peer reviewed articles. Peer review means the articles were read. commented on and corrected by experts before they were published.
The study of sustainable urbanism relates to other areas of study, including urban studies and environmental studies.
For more on understanding and using peer-reviewed articles, see the Library's YouTube Channel for a three-part series, Understanding the Scholarly Article:
- Part 1: What is a Scholarly Article?
- Part 2: How Are Scholarly Articles Structured?
- Part 3: Theory and the Scholarly Article.
If you need additional assistance, feel free to email the Librarian for Urban and Inner City Studies Michael Dudley at m.dudley@uwinnipeg.ca.
Databases
- Academic Search Premier
Academic Search Premier is a multi-disciplinary database that offers full-text access to more than 4,600 titles, including 3,900 peer-reviewed journals.
-
Alternative Press Index - Provides access to left/progressive viewpoints on urban and environmental issues.
- JSTOR - limit search to " Environmental Studies" or "Urban Studies."
- Proquest Research Library
ProQuest Research Library consists of two components: a core list of periodicals, which covers about 4,000 publications, and fifteen subject-specific modules that supplement the core list. Modules provide coverage of the following areas: arts, business, children, education, general interest, health, humanities, international studies, law, military, multicultural studies, psychology, sciences, social sciences, womenÍs interests.
Journals
Hover for details.
- Canadian Journal of Urban ResearchPublished by the Institute of Urban Studies here at UW, this is a "multi-disciplinary scholarly publication dedicated to providing a forum on urban issues, both national and international, from a Canadian perspective."
- Cities: The International Journal of Urban Policy"... offers a comprehensive range of articles on all aspects of urban policy. It provides an international and interdisciplinary platform for the exchange of ideas and information between urban planners and policy makers from national and local government, non-government organizations, academia and consultancy."
- City: Analysis of Urban Change, Theory, Action"... a journal of provocative, cutting-edge and committed insights into, analysis of, and commentary on the contemporary urban world."
- Housing Policy Debate"Housing Policy Debate provides an outlet for cutting edge, original research that informs U.S. housing and community development policy. Subjects include affordable housing, neighborhood revitalization, housing related poverty alleviation and integration strategies, and metropolitan development trends. The journal also aims to explore linkages between housing policy and finance, energy, environmental, and transportation policies."
- International Journal of Urban and Regional Research"... encompasses key material from an unparalleled range of critical, comparative and geographic perspectives."
- Journal of Environmental PsychologyTopics include understanding barriers to and motivations for sustainable behaviours.
- Journal of the American Planning Association"For more than 70 years, [the journal] has published research, commentaries, and book reviews useful to practicing planners, policymakers, scholars, students, and citizens of urban, suburban, and rural areas."
- Review of Urban and Regional Development Studies"... contains rigorous empirical analysis, with many articles emphasizing theoretical and methodological issues, while others focus on policy relevance and the operational aspects of the academic disciplines."
- Urban Affairs Review"... peer-reviewed and published bi-monthly, is a leading scholarly journal on urban issues and themes."
- Urban Studies"... provides an international forum of social and economic contributions to the fields of urban and regional planning."
Magazines
Alternatives Journal: “Canadian environmental ideas and action”
Atlantic Magazine - Cities - "The Atlantic Cities explores the most innovative ideas and pressing issues facing today’s global cities and neighborhoods. By bringing together news, analysis, data, and trends, the site is an engaging destination for an increasingly urbanized world."
Curb Magazine: Produced by the City Regions studies Centre at the University of Alberta
Grist - Environmental News and Commentary
Orion Magazine: “It is Orion’s fundamental conviction that humans are morally responsible for the world in which we live, and that the individual comes to sense this responsibility as he or she develops a personal bond with nature.”
Resurgence (UK): “…ecology, alternative education, sustainable development and the arts.”
Spacing - Canadian Urbanism Uncovered
The Trumpeter: Journal of Ecosophy
Yes! Magazine: “The Journal of positive futures”
- Last Updated: Feb 28, 2024 11:05 AM
- URL: https://libguides.uwinnipeg.ca/Sustainability
- Print Page