Master of Arts in Indigenous Governance
Select Journals
Hover for details.
- American Indian Culture and Research Journal
"...publishes original scholarship, commentaries, and book reviews on a wide range of issues in the fields of history, anthropology, geography, sociology, political science, health, literature, law, education, and the arts." - American Indian Quarterly"... contributes to the development of American Indian studies as a field and to the sovereignty and continuance of American Indian nations and cultures. "
- Canadian Journal of Native Studies
"CJNS publishes articles and reviews concerning Aboriginal People and Aboriginal affairs in Canada, the USA, and other countries of the world." - Cultural Survival Quarterly
"For nearly 40 years Cultural Survival has partnered with Indigenous communities around the world to help them defend their lands, languages, and cultures." - Indigenous Policy Journal"Indigenous Policy (IPJ) publishes articles, commentary, reviews, news, and announcements concerning Native American and international Indigenous affairs, issues, events, nations, groups and media."
- International Indigenous Policy Journal"IIPJ is a peer-reviewed, policy-relevant research journal addressing issues pertaining to Indigenous Peoples throughout the world."
- International Journal of Critical Indigenous Studies"... disseminates scholarship across the Humanities, Social Sciences, Health Sciences, Law and Education in the field of Indigenous Studies. Indigenous scholars from around the world share common experiences of colonisation. Our collective politics have been shaped by our intellectual traditions which inform our work within the academy."
- Journal of Indigenous Research"This Journal was created in response to community requests for information about research that has been conducted among their people."
- Native Studies Review"... original scholarly research on Aboriginal perspectives and issues in contemporary and historical contexts. "
- Tribal Law Journal"... established in fall 1998 for the purpose of promoting indigenous self-determination by facilitating discussion of the internal law of the world's indigenous nations."
- Wicazo Sa"... provides inquiries into the Indian past and its relationship to the vital present. Its aim is to become an interdisciplinary instrument to assist indigenous peoples of the Americas in taking possession of their own intellectual and creative pursuits."
Course-Specific Databases
- Alternative Press IndexProvides access to the practices and theories of radical social change, and focuses on socialism, national liberation, labor, indigenous peoples, gays/lesbians, feminism, ecology, democracy, and anarchism.
- Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America [EBSCOhost] This link opens in a new window
Formerly the Bibliography of Native North Americans (BNNA).
Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America is a bibliographic database covering all aspects of native North American culture, history, and life. This resource covers a wide range of topics including archaeology, multicultural relations, gaming, governance, legend, and literacy. It contains citations dating from the sixteenth century to the present for books, essays, journal articles, and government documents of the United States and Canada. - Indigenous Studies Portal (iPortal) This link opens in a new windowThe Indigenous Studies Portal (iPortal) is a database of full-text electronic resources such as articles, e-books, theses, government publications, videos, oral histories, and digitized archival documents and photographs. The iPortal content has a primary focus on Indigenous peoples of Canada with a secondary focus on North American materials and beyond. Anyone can use the freely available materials in the iPortal but some resources are licensed and may only be available from your own library.
General Databases
- Academic Search Premier
Academic Search Premier is a multi-disciplinary database that offers full-text access to more than 4,600 titles, including 3,900 peer-reviewed journals.
- Conference Papers Index
This database provides citations to papers and poster sessions presented at major scientific meetings around the world. Subject emphasis since 1995 has been in the life sciences, environmental sciences and the aquatic sciences, while older material also covers physics, engineering and materials science.
- JSTOR
A multi-disciplinary collection of hundreds of full-text journals, usually with full runs of each title except for the five most recent years. - Myilibrary
MyiLibrary eBook platform provides access to ebook titles and content. Interdisciplinary, includes environmental sciences and development issues.
- Proquest Research Library
ProQuest Research Library consists of two components: a core list of periodicals, which covers about 4,000 publications, and fifteen subject-specific modules that supplement the core list. Modules provide coverage of the following areas: arts, business, children, education, general interest, health, humanities, international studies, law, military, multicultural studies, psychology, sciences, social sciences, womenÍs interests.
- SAGE KNowledge
A collection of encyclopedias covering a wide range of subject areas, including anthropology, criminal justice, leadership, governance, homelessness, human geography, politics, psychology, statistics, terrorism, and many more.
- Wiley Online
Wiley Online Library offers access to a multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities. This database contains more than 4 million articles from 1,500 journals. The Library has access to most Wiley journal articles published after 1996.
Copyright