Skip to main content

eBooks: EBSCO eBooks

A guide to eBooks at the University of Winnipeg, including viewing, searching, and downloading eBooks in our collections.

EBSCOhost eBooks

- Tens of thousands of academic eBook titles available in full textView online in the built-in eBook viewer

- Download select titles to your computer or mobile device to view offline

- iOS and Android apps are available

- Users can place a Hold on an eBook if it is checked out

- The search result list now contains a “Most relevant pages from this eBook” link for many titles. By expanding this section, users can quickly identify the items that are most important to them without having to leave the result list page

- Users can check-in eBooks before the check-out duration has expired using the BlueFire app as well as Adobe Digital Editions.

- A growing number of eBooks on EBSCOhost titles are available in EPUB format, which allows text to be resized

Follow the link to the UofW collection of EBSCOhost eBooks, and click Connect.

You can use the Basic Search, Browse Categories, or see the Featured eBooks in the eBooks Collections in order to find eBooks on EBSCOhost.

Searching

1) Type your keywords into the Search Box.

2) A result list of eBooks will be displayed, which can be refined further by clicking on "Subject" or "Category" on the left.

3) Click the eBook Full Text link to read a selected title book in the eBook Viewer tool.

4) Click the Table of Contents link to view the chapters of an eBook. You can go directly to a chapter in the eBook Viewer tool by clicking on a hyperlinked chapter.

Viewing

You can customize the display size, as well as search for specific terms within the book, and jump to chapters, in the on-screen viewer. Note that if you want to add notes to the book, you will have to sign up for an EBSCO account.

One Time Set Up

You will need to go through some initial set up in order to be able to download eBooks to your computer to read offline, but once you sign up for the necessary accounts and install the software, subsequent eBooks will be simple to download.

1) Set up a free EBSCOhost account, if you have not already, by clicking on Sign In at the top of the page.

2) Set up an Adobe ID account, if you have not already. (Why do you need these accounts? See Accounts and Apps)

3) Install Adobe Digital Editions software (free).

4) Authorize your version of Adobe Digital Editions by signing in with your Adobe ID.

Downloading

1) Click the Download (Offline) link for the eBook you would like to download.

If you are not logged into your EBSCOhost account, you will be prompted to do so.

2) Select a Checkout period from the drop-down menu and click the Checkout & Download button.

Note: For some titles, you may see the option to select either the PDF or EPUB format for an eBook. As explained in the Glossary, EPUB is usually a preferable format as you can re-size the text.

3) Select to Open to read your book in Digital Editions.

4) eBooks automatically expire after their checkout period, so you do not need to return them. You can return eBooks early in Adobe Digital Editions app by right clicking on the title in your bookshelf.

Downloading - Mobile

If you have an iOS device (such as an iPad or iPhone), or and Android device (many smartphones and tablets, as well as the KindleFire and Kobo Arc), you can download EBSCOhost eBooks (when available for download) directly to your device.

 One Time Set Up

You will need to sign up for some accounts and install an app in order to read eBooks. We reccomend Bluefire Reader, but it may be possible to use other document readers already installed on your device, such as Overdrive or Aldiko. You will only need to do this step once; subsequent downloads will be simple.

1) Set up a free EBSCOhost account, if you have not already, by clicking on Sign In at the top of the page.

2) Set up an Adobe ID account, if you have not already. (Why do you need these accounts? See Accounts and Apps)

3) Install the Bluefire Reader App

4) Authorize the app with your Adobe ID.

Downloading

1) You can find eBooks either through the Library catalogue, browsing the mobile site of EBSCOhost, or using the EBSCOhost app. When you click on a book title to view it, you should see a Download link.

2) You will be prompted to login with your EBSCOhost account, if you have not already.

3) You will be given a screen where you can select any options (if available). If you are reading on a mobile device, the EPUB format is usually preferable to PDF, but is not always available. Make any changes, then select Checkout and Download.

4) You may be prompted which app you wish to open the eBook with. Select any app you have authorized with an Adobe ID. Your eBook should now open in that app!

5) eBooks automatically expire after their checkout period, so you do not need to return them. You can return eBooks early in the Bluefire Reader app by holding down on the title in your bookshelf.

If you have an eInk eReader (black and white screen, not capable of installing apps) such as the Kobo Touch or Nook, you will first need to follow the instructions for Downloading eBooks to your computer, then transfer them to your eReader.

Transferring eBooks

1) First you will have to Download the eBook to your computer, and open the eBook in Adobe Digital Editions.

2) With Adobe Digital Editions open, plug in your eReader. With many eReaders, you will need to select an option such as "Connect" in order to connect the eReader to your computer.

3) Once you have connected the eReader, Adobe Digital Editions will recognize the device. If you have not previously authorized your eReader with an Adobe ID, Digital Editions will prompt you to do so.

Note: Your eReader and Adobe Digital Editions must be authorized with the *same* Adobe ID in order to transfer books.

4) Your eReader should show up as a device in Digital Editions. You can now drag and drop your title to your eReader, or you can right click on it to copy it to the device.

Up to 60 pages of an eBook can be printed or saved per user as a PDF file from within the eBook Full Text viewer.

Note: The number of pages may vary depending on individual publisher-specified limits.

To print (or save) eBooks pages as a PDF:

  1. Open the eBook in the eBook Full Text viewer.

  2. Go to the first page of the section of pages you would like to print and click the Print icon in the right column.

    The Print PDF menu is displayed.

  3. Select to print:

    • Current Page: Print only the page you are viewing.
    • Current Page and the next XX pages: Enter the number of pages (up to 60) in the field provided.
    • This Section: Select to print the entire section of the eBook. (If available to select)
  4. Select:

    • Print PDF: To send the selected pages to your printer.
    • Send as an E-mail: To e-mail the selected pages as a PDF file to yourself.

Note: eBook pages saved as a PDF can be transferred to, and read on eReader devices

Instructions provided by EBSCOhost help.

Loading
Copyright

Databases Terms of Use