Skip to main content
Fiction, Public Domain, and General Free eBooks
- Digital Book Index : a Union Catalog of Electronic Books, Texts and Documents
Digital Book Index provides links to more than 148,000 full-text digital books from more than 1800 commercial and non-commercial publishers, universities, and various private sites. More than 120,000 of these books, texts, and documents are available free, while many others are available at very modest cost.
- Free Library by Farlex
Since 2003, The Free Library has offered free, full-text versions of classic literary works from hundreds of celebrated authors, whose biographies, images, and famous quotations can also be found on the site. Recently, The Free Library has been expanded to include a massive collection of periodicals from hundreds of leading publications.
- Open Library
A database with information about millions of books, and a lending library of over 200,000 free eBooks.
- Project Gutenberg
"Project Gutenberg offers over 42,000 free ebooks: choose among free epub books, free kindle books, download them or read them online. We carry high quality ebooks: All our ebooks were previously published by bona fide publishers. We digitized and diligently proofread them with the help of thousands of volunteers."
- Winnipeg Public Library
If you have a WPL card, you can access thousands of Fiction and Non-Fiction titles from OverDrive, as well as thousands of always available titles (including some academic presses) on Freading.
- Universal Library
The Universal Library Project, sometimes called the Million Books Project, was pioneered by Jaime Carbonell, Raj Reddy, Michael Shamos, Gloriana St Clair, and Robert Thibadeau of Carnegie Mellon University. The Governments of India, China, and Egypt are helping fund this effort through scanning facilities and personnel. The Internet Archive has contributed 100k books from the Kansas City Public Library along with servers to India.
Primary Historical Sources
- ARTFL Database (American and French Research on the Treasury of the French Language)
A searchable database of French literary texts from the 12th to the 20th centuries.
- ARTFL Encyclopédie (American and French Research on the Treasury of the French Language)
The online edition, still in progress, of the Encyclopedie of Diderot and d'Alembert, 1st ed. (1751-72).
- ARTFL French Women Writers Project (American and French Research on the Treasury of the French Language)
A searchable database containing works by French women authors from the early sixteenth to the nineteenth century.
- Baldwin Library of Historical Children's Literature (University of Florida's George A. Smathers Libraries )
The Baldwin Library of Historical Children's Literature in the Department of Special Collections at the University of Florida's George A. Smathers Libraries contains more than 100,000 volumes published in Great Britain and the United States from the early 1700s through the current year. Its holdings of more than 800 early American imprints is the second largest such collection in the United States.
- Canadian Poetry
Created in partnership with the Electronic Text Centre at the University of New Brunswick Libraries, this unique collection contains the full text of more than 19,000 poems by 177 poets including Bliss Carman, Isabella Valancy Crawford, Archibald Lampman, Charles G. D. Roberts and Duncan Campbell Scott, offering a comprehensive survey of Canadian poetry from the eighteenth century to the early twentieth.
- Canadiana Discovery Portal
The Canadiana Discovery Portal (CDP) provides access to a vast collection of Canadian historical artifacts from institutions across Canada.
- Early Canadiana Online
Early Canadiana Online (ECO) is a digital library providing access to over 1.5 million digitized pages of Canada's printed heritage. It features works published from the time of the first European settlers up to the early 20th century. The second phase of ECO began in 2000 and is scheduled to continue to 2004. During this time, 1,250,000 pages of colonial, federal, and provincial government publications will be scanned and published.
- Empire Online
Empire Online is an interactive digital tool designed to encourage the use of primary source material in the exploration of colonial history, politics, culture and society. This collection features thousands of images of distinctive source material such as maps, manuscripts, pamphlets, rare books and artworks and contains documents spanning five centuries from a translation of Columbus' 1492 voyage to 21st-century articles on imperialism.
- Internet Archive
The Internet Archive host hundreds of thousands of texts, moving images, and archived websites. It is an excellent repository for historical primary sources.
- Turning the Pages (British Library)
The British Library has digitized important historical works, such as Lindisfarne Gospels, Da Vinci's notebook, Sherborne Missal among others. User can "turn the pages of rare books or manuscripts in a highly realistic way. They can zoom in on the high-quality digitized images and read or listen to notes explaining the significance of each page." ...
- The Oxford Text Archive
The Oxford Text Archive develops, collects, catalogues and preserves electronic literary and linguistic resources for use in Higher Education, in research, teaching and learning. Access to some materials is restricted.