Colonization, Decolonization and Postcolonialism: An Interdisciplinary Guide
Supports research in Indigenous Studies, History, Political Science, Women's and Gender Studies and Literary Studies.
Finding Peer-Reviewed Articles
Most of your assignments at the UW will require that you include at least some scholarly, peer reviewed articles. Peer review means the articles were read. commented on and corrected by experts before they were published.
The field of postcolonial studies relates to other areas, including history, Indigenous Studies and political science. In addition to searching for articles in databases specifically related to these disciplines, you may wish to try general-interest, interdisciplinary databases as well, like Academic Search Complete, JSTOR and the ProQuest Platform.
For more on understanding and using peer-reviewed articles, see the Library's YouTube Channel for a three-part series, Understanding the Scholarly Article:
- Part 1: What is a Scholarly Article?
- Part 2: How Are Scholarly Articles Structured?
- Part 3: Theory and the Scholarly Article.
If you need extra research assistance, you may email the librarians responsible for History (Michael Dudley, m.dudley@uwinnipeg.ca), Indigenous Studies (Danielle Bitz, d.bitz@uwinnipeg.ca) and Political Science (Sam Popowich, s.popowich@uwinnipeg.ca).
Select Databases
- African Journals OnlineHistorically, scholarly information has flowed from North to South and from West to East. It has also been difficult for African researchers to access the work of other African academics. In partnership with hundreds of journals from all over the continent, AJOL works to change this, so that African-origin research output is available to Africans and to the rest of the world. AJOL is a Non-Profit Organisation based in South Africa.
- Alternative Press Index"Provides access to the practices and theories of radical social change, and focuses on socialism, national liberation, labor, indigenous peoples, gays/lesbians, feminism, ecology, democracy, and anarchism."
- America: History and LifeAmerica: History & Life is an index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. It indexes 1,700 journals from 1964 to present, and is an important bibliographic reference tool for students and scholars of U.S. and Canadian history.
- Eighteenth Century JournalsEighteenth Century Journals I consists of 95 well-known and rare journals selected from the Bodleian Library, Oxford. This collection covers a number of topics but is particularly strong in eighteenth-century drama. Eighteenth Century Journals II is drawn from the collection of Harry Ransom Humanities Research Center, University of Texas at Austin. This collection includes a variety of newspapers and periodicals not available anywhere else and is invaluable to the study of all aspects of eighteenth-century life and culture.
- Empire OnlineEmpire Online is an interactive digital tool designed to encourage the use of primary source material in the exploration of colonial history, politics, culture and society. This collection features thousands of images of distinctive source material such as maps, manuscripts, pamphlets, rare books and artworks and contains documents spanning five centuries from a translation of Columbus' 1492 voyage to 21st-century articles on imperialism.
- Historical AbstractsHistorical Abstracts is a resource that covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present. It includes subjects such as world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more.
- HuriSearch - Human Rights Search EngineHuriSearch is a multilingual (77 languages) full-text search engine which crawls 5,000 human rights websites. It is useful for human rights monitors and researchers, students and academics, diplomats and persons working in international organisations, politicians and journalists.
- Peace Research AbstractsPeace Research Abstracts includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to peace research, including conflict resolution, international affairs, peace psychology, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline. The index contains 245,000 records, which are carefully selected from the most important sources within the discipline.
- Slavery, Abolition and Social JusticeThis collection is comprised of thousands of original documents related to trans-Atlantic slavery and is designed to be a portal for slavery and abolition studies. The major focus of this resource includes the varieties and legacy of slavery, social justice and continued practices of present-day slavery. Supporting materials include a series of contextual essays by leading authorities from around the world which link directly to the primary sources under discussion.
Key Journals
- Last Updated: Feb 28, 2024 11:05 AM
- URL: https://libguides.uwinnipeg.ca/decolonizing
- Print Page
Copyright