Chemistry
Information to help get students researching topics in Chemistry.
Librarian
Electronic Reference
- ChemID PlusDictionary of over 370,000 chemicals (names, synonyms, and structures). Includes links to NLM and other databases and resources.
- Material Safety Data Sheet (MSDS) SearchProvided by the Canadian Centre for Occupational Health and Safety (CCOHS), this page lets you search for and display MSDS data for many chemicals.
- NIST Constants InformationComprehensive and authoritative guide to constants in the sciences, including a useful bibliography for further study.
- Periodic TableAn interactive table from RSC, also downloadable as an app.
Encyclopedias and Dictionaries
CRC handbook of chemistry and physics : a ready reference book of chemical and physical dataISBN: 1498754295Publication Date: 2017The CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics is an accurate, reliable, and current resource for chemical and physical data.
Macmillan Encyclopedia of ChemistryCall Number: QD 4 M33 1997ISBN: 0028972252This key encyclopedia treats "basic terms and concepts with the major areas of matter, principles and laws of chemistry, the main divisions of chemistry, aqueous chemistry, biochemistry, industrial applications, and teaching" (Douville, 2004).- Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical TechnologyCall Number: TP 9 E685 1978ISBN: 0471020370These 26 volumes, although dated, give comprehensive coverage of applied chemistry and chemical technology. There is also a newer, abridged version nearby.
Shelf Browsing
Chemistry consists of many different subject areas. If you want to browse either the reference (main floor) or regular (upstairs) collections to find material, I would suggest that you look in the following sections:
QD 1-65 - General Chemistry
QD 71-142 - Analytical Chemistry
QD 146-197 - Inorganic Chemistry
QD 241-414 - Organic Chemistry
QD 414-436 - Biochemistry
QD 450-801 - Physical and Theoretical Chemistry
QD 901-999 - Crystallography
Copyright