Skip to main content

A Beginner's Guide to Library Research

Once you've figured out the basics of the library, you'll need to develop a research plan, find some sources, choose the best ones, and use the information you've found to help write a research paper or report.

Library Basics

Each student has three important accounts to keep track of:

The student computer account allows students to use campus computers, log-in to their myUWinnipeg account (email, storage), register for their classes, and get important course information through Nexus. To login, simply use your WebAdvisor username and password. You will also use this same username and password to connect to the library’s electronic resources (databases, ebooks, etc.) from off-campus.

Your myLibrary account allows you to see the materials you have checked out and renew your books. You will need the barcode number from your student card, and a PIN you create when you first log in. Watch the video to the right for deatils.

The printing account will allow you to print your documents from any student printer on campus. You should find your account ID and password in your student email.

Set up these accounts early in your studies. Log in and learn how to use them.

Borrowing

Loan Periods and Fines

Students can borrow regular library materials for 30 days. If the borrowed item is requested by another student or professor, you will be asked to return the item at any point after two weeks of the loan date. You will be notified by email if an item you have borrowed has been requested. Students who do not return library materials by their due date will be subject to fines of 50 cents per day, up to a maximum of $15. Remember that other material types are subject to different loan periods and fines. Please see our complete list material types, loan periods, and fines.

Library Card

The UW student card also acts as a library card. Students can borrow library books and other library materials by checking them out at the circulation desk near the front entrance to the library.

Renewals

Students may renew books and other materials either in person, by visiting the circulation desk, or online, by logging in to their [MyLibrary account](.

Electronic Resources

Library Databases

In addition to the print resources located in the library, you can access a huge collection of electronic resources, including ebooks and ejournals, through the library databases. You can search large academic databases, such as Jstor and Ebsco, through our website. Simply click the Library Databases link to access the databases portal. Here you can select a database by title (e.g. Jstor), subject area (e.g. History), or content type (e.g. Newspapers). There’s also a list of our most popular databases as the default option under subjects. Most of our databases are focused on academic research articles, although some include results for ebooks or articles in popular newspapers and magazines.

Full-text Articles

A full electronic copy of the text will accompany many of the articles you will find in our databases. Look for a PDF or HTML link in the record. If the full-text isn’t available in the database you’re searching, it may still be available in another. You can use the “Find Text” button to locate an available copy. If there are still no links to the full-text, you will need to request the item by Interlibrary Loan

Off-Campus Access

To search the library databases, or any subscription electronic resources, from off-campus, you will need to enter your WebAdvisor username and password to authenticate as a student.

Printing:Scanning

Your Equitrac Account

To print on campus, you will need your Equitrac username and password. If you can’t find information in your student email, you can get it by visiting Student Central. When you send a document to print from a campus computer, you will be asked to enter this information and confirm the cost of the print job. You will then need to release the job at the printers by entering your Equitrac account information on the printer keypad, selecting your print job, and choosing Print. Black and white print jobs can be released at any student printer. Colour printing must be done at one of the student colour printers.

Formatting

By default, the campus computers will print in black-and-white and double-sided. If you wish to print in colour and/or single-sided, you will need to change the settings in the print menu. You can make any other necessary formatting changes here, as well.

Adding Money

You can add money to your printing account by visiting one of the Equitrac Pay Stations on campus. Enter your account information and add funds. These funds will be removed from your account whenever you release print jobs. Black-and-white printing costs 11¢/page. Colour printing costs 56¢/page.

Get in-person assistance:

  • Library Reference Desk: Come visit us at the heart of the library’s fourth floor. Talented librarians are available 9:30–4:30, Monday to Friday.
  • Monthly Workshops: Our monthly Ready Set Go workshops are sure to get you on the right track. Register today.
  • One-on-one Research Consultations: Feel free to schedule an appointment with one of our librarians to go over the details of your research project.
Loading
Copyright