French Studies
About FREN-2180
FREN-2180 (3) Introduction to French Literature (3 hrs Lecture) This course gives students the foundational skills required to read and write in French about literature. Students are introduced to the terms and tools of analysis necessary for a critical reading of modern literary texts which are drawn from different genres and a variety of areas of the francophone world, such as Canada, France, Africa and the Caribbean.
Sélection des vedettes-matières de la Bibliothèque du Congrès pour trouver des sources de référence
Library of Congress Subject Headings (or keywords you may want to consider) for finding Reference sources:
Authors, French -- Biography -- Dictionaries -- French.
French Canadian literature – dictionary
French-Canadian literature -- History and criticism -- Bibliography.
French literature -- Bio-bibliography -- Dictionaries -- French.
French literature -- Bio-bibliography.
French Literature -- Dictionaries
French literature -- Dictionaries -- English.
French literature -- Dictionaries -- French.
French literature -- Foreign countries -- Dictionaries -- English.
French literature -- Foreign countries -- Dictionaries -- French.
sources de référence de vocabulaire de critique littéraire
Dictionnaire des termes littérairesCall Number: Reference (UW) PN 41 L39214 2001ISBN: 2745304364Publication Date: 2001
Vocabulaire de l'analyse littéraire by Call Number: Reference (UW) PN 43 B47 1999ISBN: 2100046780Publication Date: 1999
dictionnaires d'auteurs et d'œuvres françaises
Dictionnaire mondial des littératures by
Une partie des articles ... est issue du Dictionnaire des littératures [française et étrangères], paru en 1985.
Call Number: Reference (UW) PN 41 D4872 2002ISBN: 2035051207Publication Date: 2002
Dictionary of Modern French Literature : from the age of reason through realism by
Product information not available.
Call Number: Reference (UW) PQ 41 D65 1986ISBN: 0313237840Publication Date: 1986-06-24
Dictionnaire des écrivains de langue française by
Abridged edition (revised and updated) of the 1984 and 1994 editions of the Dictionnaire des littératures de langue française.
Includes index. V. 1. A-L -- v. 2. M-Z.
Call Number: Reference (UW) PQ 41 D5412 2001 v.1-v.2ISBN: 2035051983Publication Date: 2001
Dictionnaire des littératures de langue française : auteurs by
[V. 1]. A - D -- [v. 2]. E - L -- [v. 3] . M - R -- [v. 4]. S - Z.
Call Number: Reference (UW) PQ 41 D54122 1999 v.1-v.4Publication Date: 1999- Le Robert des grands écrivains de langue française by Call Number: Reference (UW) PQ 41 R57 2000ISBN: 2850366374Publication Date: 2000
Dictionnaire des oeuvres littéraires du Québec by
V. 1] Des origines à 1900 -- [v. 2] 1900-1939 -- [v. 3] 1940-1959 -- [v. 4] 1960-1969 -- [v. 5] 1970-1975 -- [v. 6] 1976-1980 -- [v. 7] 1981-1985.
Call Number: Reference (UW) PQ 3904 D52 v.1-v.7ISBN: 2762111900Publication Date: 1978-2003- Dictionnaire des Auteurs de Langue FrançAise en AméRique du Nord by Call Number: Reference (UW) PQ 3904 H35 1989ISBN: 2762114756Publication Date: 1989-01-01
- The Oxford Illustrated Literary Guide to Canada by
This lavishly illustrated volume takes readers on a captivating tour of the Canadian literary landscape. Visiting some 500 locations across Canada--from Newfoundland to British Columbia to the Northwest Territories--we see writers plying their craft in small, unlikely places and in large urban centers, and visit the sites that have made literary history. Albert and Theresa Moritz have devoted years to this project--combing archives, government documents, newspapers and biographies--and have consulted many leading authors, literary scholars, and local historians. The result is an unusually detailed volume sprinkled with anecdotes and surprising information. They describe the accident that led to the publication of Stephen Leacock's first book, which set him on the road to fame...reveal how Hugh MacLennan escaped injury in the Halifax explosion of 1917...and visit the burial place of the dog that inspired Marshall Saunder's Beautiful Joe. The authors provide much detailed information, including the exact addresses of the homes of famous authors and of other important sites, that direct you to places you wish to visit. An indispensable guide when traveling in Canada, this fascinating book will deepen your understanding and appreciation of Canadian literary history.
Call Number: References (UW) PS 8087 M67 1987ISBN: 019540596XPublication Date: 1988-03-31
Using literary databases and special features for finding additional criticism
Use MLA International Bibliography (ProQuest) to look up literary criticisms about an author. For example, enter "Le Clézio" in the search field and select "Author as subject - SAU" in the adjacent drop down. You can also repeat the search, and add "French" under Language of publication, if you want to see only articles written in French.
You may want to look at Erudit and other French-oriented resource databases to find additional scholarly and peer-reviewed scholarly criticisms and supporting resources, and use similar, specialized features when available.
