French Studies
About
FREN-2385 (3) 20th Century French Writers and Thinkers (3 hrs Lecture) French works from the '50s to the present day are studied in this course. Major literary trends and movements - existentialism, le nouveau roman and postmodernism - are analysed in fiction, poetry and essay by writers such as Sartre, Camus, Ponge and Yourcenar.
Browsing the Shelves for Works of Key Authors
Key Subject Headings
The above links provide default subject heading searches in WorldCat Discovery relevant to several topics in your course. Apply facets (left hand side of page) for location (e.g. University of Winnipeg Library), for format (e.g. Book or Print Book), and/or for Language (e.g. French) to refocus your search results.
Some subjects have limited results, so click on the description to explore other related subjects of interest. Material not held at the University of WInnipeg can be requested by following the "Request Item Through InterLibrary Loan" button/link. Keep in mind that it may take a few days to fulfill ILL requests, especially for book items.
Sources de référence générales
Encyclopaedia universalis.
"La présente édition a été conçue et réalisée sous la présidence de Giuseppe Annoscia"--V. 1, p. 5.; Bibliog. Includes bibliographical references and index.; Contents V. 1-23. Corpus -- v. 24. Les pays -- v. 25-28. Thesaurus-index.
Call Number: Reference (UW) AE 25 E52 2002 v.1 - v. 28ISBN: 2852295504Publication Date: 2002
The Encyclopedia of Aesthetics by
The first reference of its kind, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics was originally published in 1998 in four volumes. Now expanded to include over 800 entries, the Encyclopedia surveys the full breadth of critical thought on art, culture, and society, from classical philosophy to contemporary criticaltheory. Contributors as prominent as Arthur C. Danto and John Hollander provide analyses of the major philosophers and artists whose works have impacted Aesthetics; of theories and trends such as Conceptualism and Postcolonialism; and of concepts ranging from the abject to synthesia.The field of Aesthetics is an evolving one, and as such the Encyclopedia has been updated and expanded, creating a six-volume second edition with enhanced or new coverage of international aesthetics, modern aesthetics, new media, and new fields of research such as geoaesthetics and neuroaesthetics.Featuring 815 articles by distinguished scholars from many fields and countries, the Encyclopedia is a comprehensive survey of major concepts, thinkers, and debates about the meaning, uses, and value of the arts - from painting and sculpture to literature, music, theater, textiles, dance,television, film, and sound art. Of special interest are in-depth surveys of Western aesthetics and broad coverage of non-Western traditions (e.g., Buddhist and Sanskrit Aesthetics). Over 250 new entries have been added altogether, with the first edition's editor-in-chief, Professor Michael Kelly of the University of North Carolinaat Charlotte, overseeing the updates and expansion.
ISBN: 9780199747108Publication Date: 2014- The Dictionary of the Avant-Garde by
An A-to-Z guide to the most outrageous and innovative artists of yesterday and today.
Call Number: Reference (UW) NX 456 K67 1993ISBN: 1556522029Publication Date: 1993-10-01
Le dictionnaire culturel en langue française by
"Présentant plus de 70,000 mots du français classique, moderne et très contemporain, avec leur origine, leurs sens et leurs emploi clairement définis, illustrés de nombreuses citations littéraires, en example de bon usage, de beau style, de pensée et de poésie...". t. 1. A-Deti -- t. 2. Deto-Legu -- t. 3. Lehm-Reaj -- t. 4. Real-Z.
Call Number: Reference (UW) PC 2625 D445 2005 v.1-v.4ISBN: 2850363022Publication Date: 2005
Dictionnaire des termes littéraires by Call Number: Reference (UW) PN 41 L39214 2001ISBN: 2745304364Publication Date: 2001
dictionnaires d'auteurs et d'œuvres françaises
Dictionnaire mondial des littératures by
Une partie des articles ... est issue du Dictionnaire des littératures [française et étrangères], paru en 1985.
Call Number: Reference (UW) PN 41 D4872 2002ISBN: 2035051207Publication Date: 2002
Dictionnaire des écrivains de langue française by
Abridged edition (revised and updated) of the 1984 and 1994 editions of the Dictionnaire des littératures de langue française.
Includes index. V. 1. A-L -- v. 2. M-Z.
Call Number: Reference (UW) PQ 41 D5412 2001 v.1-v.2ISBN: 2035051983Publication Date: 2001- Dictionnaire des littératures de langue française : auteurs by
[V. 1]. A - D -- [v. 2]. E - L -- [v. 3] . M - R -- [v. 4]. S - Z.
Call Number: Reference (UW) PQ 41 D54122 1999 v.1-v.4Publication Date: 1999
- Le Robert des grands écrivains de langue française by Call Number: Reference (UW) PQ 41 R57 2000ISBN: 2850366374Publication Date: 2000
Using literary databases and special features for finding additional criticism
Use MLA International Bibliography (ProQuest) to look up literary criticisms about an author. For example, enter "Le Clézio" in the search field and select "Author as subject - SAU" in the adjacent drop down. You can also repeat the search, and add "French" under Language of publication, if you want to see only articles written in French.
You may want to look at Erudit and other French-oriented resource databases to find additional scholarly and peer-reviewed scholarly criticisms and supporting resources, and use similar, specialized features when available.
