French Studies
This Guide provides a starting point for materials on French Studies.
Search the Reference Collection
The reference collection is a great place to begin your research. These short relevant articles will give the basic understanding you need to formulate a good research question.
Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
-
-
Encyclopaedia Universalis
Call Number: REF AE 25 E52 2002ISBN: 9782852295506Publication Date: 2002 -
Encyclopédie générale Larousse : en 3 volumes
by
Call Number: REF AG 25 E66 1981ISBN: 9782030098103Publication Date: 1981
-
Harrap French Dictionary
Call Number: REF PC 2640 H33 2001 v.1 - v.2ISBN: 0245606610Publication Date: 2001 -
The New Oxford Companion to Literature in French
by
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 0198661258Publication Date: 1995
-
Grand Robert & Collins Dictionary Online This link opens in a new windowLe Grand & Collins is a bilingual (French and English) online dictionary. It enables you to quickly find the correct translation, taking into account the context of the sentence, the specific cultural nuances and idiomatic usages.
-
Petit Robert Dictionary Online This link opens in a new windowLe Petit Robert is an authoritative French dictionary that contains all content found in the print work of the same name. It contains common names, proper names, analysis of their meaning, literary citations, etymologies and synonyms and opposites.
Online Language Resources
- French Online Grammar Quiz to Accompany Allons-y
these quizzes are designed to allow you to quickly test yourself on your knowledge of French. - Tex. French Grammar: la grammaire de l.absurde
A simple but effective site for understanding French Grammar and its key elements.
-
Laboratoire CRISCO : consultation du dictionnaireA dictionary of French synonyms
-
LingueeDictionary and search engine for 100 million translations.