Library Help Chat Skip to Main Content

French Studies

This Guide provides a starting point for materials on French Studies.

General Online Resources

Acadian & French Canadian Ancestral Home
This site has genealogy and history.
Acadian Cultural Society Page de la Maison
The Acadian Cultural Society is devoted to the study, preservation and promotion of Acadian Heritage and genealogy among individuals of Acadian descent, and serves as a resource for the exchange of Acadian information.
Bibliothèque Nationale de France (BnF)
Bibliothèque et Archives Canada
Ce site transmet de l'information sur notre collection et nos services et offre un acces a nos ressources en ligne.
Bibliothèques Francophones
An online list of Francophone Libraries from France.
Catalogue Collectif de France
Un instrument de localisation, un répertoire des ressources documentaires françaises, et un service de fourniture de documents via Internet (PIB).
Centre d’Études Acadiennes (Université de Moncton)
This site provides a detailed history, links to Acadian culture and some grass roots links.
Centre de recherche en civilisation Canadienne-Française
from the University of Ottawa.
Close Ups: The French New Wave and the Face
An online journal article about film.
Etudes Francaises
A collection of internet sites developed by the University of Montreal covering francophone authors, literature and history.
France Diplomatie
A source for official foreign policy statements and documents,
Francopholists: l’Annuaire des listes de diffusion francophones
A collection of francophone lists.
French Culture
From about.com -with links to many aspects of cultural experience.
French Culture on the Web
With links to history, Charlemagne letters, biographies, and images of Medieval French architecture.
French Film and Cinema
This site is from the University of Adelaide focuses on le Film Francais.
French History 20th Century
French Language Computing
From Information Technology Services at New York University.
French Literature: The 16th Century through the 20th Century
This site provides a brief discussion of the major themes and authors in French Literature, from the 16th century to the 20th century. At this site, you can also find biographies and pictures of the authors, and links to some of their works.
French Medieval Drama Database Project
Internet project collects bibliographies of French medieval drama resources and photographs from the original manuscripts.
French Resources on the Web
Including links to media, the arts, history, news, science, politics, economics and language.
French Studies Web: Politics & Government, Constitutions and Civil Codes
From the Association of College and Research Libraries Western European Studies Section links to historic materials.
Language Translation Search Engines
A program which can translate words, sentences and paragraphs into many foriegn languages in a manner of minutes.
Le Centre international pour le développement de l'inforoute
En français — aux organisations engagées dans le développement des inforoutes en Francophonie, l'étude fournira un outil d’aide à l’élaboration des programmes et à la planification des infrastructures.
Learning French and French Grammar online
Musée acadienne de l’université de Moncton
A great site with links to their permanent & temporary Expositions, Évangéline, a résumé de l’histoire acadienne (1604 - 1755) and a history of the Museum.
Posters of the Revolution from ATELIER POPULAIRE
Paris 1968 Read an overview of the May, 1968 revolution of students and workers in Paris, and see the revolt's posters and descriptions of each.
Research Guide for the Study of Francophone Literature
From Bobst library.
Ressources Littéraires
A collection of links for research in french literature.
The French New Wave
An excellent overview of this important film movement by Stephen Nottingham.
WESS: French Studies Web
A list of online textual databases containing a variety of resources.