Canadian Visual Art
This guide links to key resources relevant to the study of Canadian visual art.
Subject Guide
Reference Resources
When researching any topic, reference resources are an excellent place to get started. Like your textbook, they are an excellent starting place for establishing areas of common knowledge and fact and are a natural foundation for identifying and defining key concepts and terms that may be used for finding related and more in-depth resources. Reference resources take on a variety of formats and purposes:
- Encyclopedias and Dictionaries
- Directories
- Handbooks
- Biographies
- Bibliographies
- Almanacs
- Maps/Atlases
While there are many more online resources than a few years ago, there are still many invaluable print resources that still exist in the 4th Floor Reference Room of the Library.
Dictionaries & Encyclopedias
These print and online sources will help you locate biographical information related to Canadian artists.
- ArtcyclopediaA large index of online museums and image archives.
- Artists In CanadaAn index of Canadian artists from the mid 19th century to present.
- The Canadian EncyclopediaThe Canadian Encyclopedia provides useful biographical details of many influential Canadian Artists.
- CCCA Canadian Art DatabaseThe Canadian Art Database introduces and showcases the careers of Canada's leading professional artists and art writers. The Databases hosts a wide variety of materials and includes: artist biographies, exhibition records, images and embedded video.
- A dictionary of Canadian artistsThis Multi-volume set provides biographies and references for Canadian artists. Available in print within the library.
- Inuit ArtistsGovernment of Canada website. Search by artists' name, name variation and community.
- Inuit Artists ProfilesFrom Inuit Art Quarterly
Copyright