Theatre
The UW Dramatic Works Collection
Within the Library of Congress Classification system, dramatic works are filed according to country of origin, along with novels and poetry. Because of this, plays are scattered throughout the P classification. Here at the University of Winnipeg, we have created a separate section for plays where they are all filed together (except for the plays of Shakespeare, which remain with other Shakespeare-related works). A search for "UW DRAMATIC WORKS COLLECTION" (using "B8" as the Location Code) will produce a list of thousands of these plays. In an advanced search, you can combine this term with specific playwrights, e.g.,
B8: DRAMATIC WORKS COLLECTION au: shaw
It is also possible to limit one's search to a particular play publisher, e.g.:
B8: DRAMATIC WORKS COLLECTION kw: methuen
General Guide to Shelf Locations:
Using Books for Research
The UW Library collection includes monographs (book on a single topic by one or many authors) as well as edited collections and anthologies (books in which each chapter is by different authors writing on a common theme) and grey literature. All can be useful for completing research assignments. (For more information on these types of library materials, see our YouTube video, Library Research Using Books).
For a good explanation of how the Library of Congress Classification scheme works, check out the Library's YouTube video, Understanding the Library of Congress Classification System.
Search the Catalogue: Subject Headings (Type "su:" and then enter the following)
- ActingSubdivides: [Country], history, "for television"; "in opera"
- MonologuesSubdivides: -- Indexes
- One act playsSubdivides geographically
- Stage......adaptations, directions, fencing, fighting, lighting, machinery, photography, props, etc.
- TheaterSubdivides: History, [country], Economic aspects, Political aspects, -- Reviews, Social aspects, etc.
- Theater production and directionUse for "Stagecraft"
- Theater [Country] History
- [Subject] - Drama
Browse the Shelves: Call Numbers
- PN 2053Stage directing
- PN 2055Stage acting
- PN 2061Acting technique
- PN 2091Stage lighting
- PN 2300 - 2308Theatre in Canada
- PN 2080Monologues and auditions
- Last Updated: Sep 12, 2024 1:59 PM
- URL: https://libguides.uwinnipeg.ca/theatre
- Print Page