Business and Administration

business and management principles, including the fundamentals of accounting, human resources, leadership and strategy, marketing, and operations management

Scholarly vs. Popular

Websites, book, articles and other sources of information are designed to attract the attention of particular audiences. Some are geared for general consumption by the public (such as magazines, newspapers, etc.) while others are intended for use by researchers (such as books, journals, etc.). Before using a source that you've located, it is best to evaluate its intended use.

Key Journal

Harvard Business Review is a popular, scholarly journal among those in the business programme.

Harvard Business Review
Harvard Business Review is a general management magazine published since 1922 by Harvard Business School Publishing, owned by the Harvard Business School. A monthly research-based magazine written for business practitioners, it claims a high ranking business readership among academics, executives, and management consultants.

Finding a Particular Article

If you have the citation of an article, you can use the library's Journal Search to see if it's available in the library. Search for the Journal Title, then choose the database with the right volume and year.

Now navigate to volume, issue, and page number of your article. Remember, you will need to know the complete citation of an article to find it via the Journal Search.

Look for a Full-text link (PDF or HTML).

Online Databases (U of W Access)

If you are looking for articles about a certain topic, you will want to search for the topic in one of our subscription Databases.

You can select subject-specific databases, such as Business and Administration. Listed below are a selection of popular scholarly journal databases for Business and Administration.

Different databases will look different, but they are all designed to help you find journal articles. Try searching for your topic keywords. Explore the features that allow you to limit your results by publication date, language, etc.

When you find an article you're interested in, look for a Full-text link (PDF or HTML). If there is no link to the full-text, try using the Find Text button. This will search through our other databases to see if the full-text is available elsewhere. if none of our databases have the full-text, you will have to request an Interlibrary Loan.

ABI/INFORM Collection [ProQuest] This link opens in a new window
The ABI/INFORM Collection features full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals, country-and industry-focused reports, and major news sources. Its international coverage gives researchers a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world.
Business Source Premier [EBSCOhost] This link opens in a new window
Business Source Premier is a research database providing database containing citations, abstracts, ebooks, and journal articles in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, finance and economics.
CBCA [ProQuest] This link opens in a new window
CBCA (Canadian Business & Current Affairs Database) is a Canadian periodical collection covering multiple subjects and topics. It features a diversified mix of publications, including scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, reports, radio and television transcripts, news, dissertations, and more.
SAGE Journals This link opens in a new window
SAGE Journals is a multidisciplinary collection of peer-reviewed journals published by SAGE. It contains material across a range of disciplines from the sciences, social sciences and humanities.
SpringerLink Online This link opens in a new window
Springer Link is a multidisciplinary collection of peer-reviewed journals, ebooks and reference works published by SpringerNature. It contains material across a range of disciplines from the sciences, social sciences and humanities.
Web of Science [Web of Science] This link opens in a new window
Web of Science is a platform that provides access to citations, and abstracts allowing for in-depth exploration of fields within the sciences, social sciences, arts and humanities. It enables users to search current and retrospective multidisciplinary information from research journals, and provides search methods so users can navigate forwards and backwards through the literature.

Requesting an Interlibrary Loan

Interlibrary Loan Requests can be submitted one of two ways:

normally by using the Find Text link in one of our databases
or by filling out a request form on our website.