Applied Computer Science
Search the Entire Collection
While the items you'll find in the Reference Collection can be a terrific place to start your research, more detailed information can be found in the Library's print and eBook collections. The search box found here is the same as the one on the Library's main page - it can search for books and other material here at the UWinnipeg Library and beyond.
Librarian
New & Noteworthy
Shelf Browsing
The UWpg Library uses the Library of Congress Classification System.
To find library resources search in the UWpg library catalogue.
To browse the shelves for resources in Computer Science, try the following call numbers:
HF5548 Office Automation
Q300-390 Cybernetics
QA75.5-76.36 Computer Science - General
QA76.38-76.545 Computers, General
QA76.58-76.59
QA76.55-76.57 Online Data Processing
QA76.6-76.73 Computer Programming & Programming Languages
QA76.75-.765 Computer Software
QA76.8 Special Computers & Systems
QA76.9 Special Topics in Computer Science
QA267-268.5 Machine Theory, Abstract Automata
T57.62-.64 Modeling & Simulation
T58.6-58.62 Management Information Systems
TA1630-1650 Optical Data Processing
TK5105.5-.9 Computer Networks
Alternative Textbooks
- Open Textbook Library: Computer Science TextbooksIncludes textbooks on Information Systems and Programming Languages.
Open textbooks are licensed by authors and publishers to be freely used and adapted. These textbooks are all either in use at multiple higher education institutions, or affiliated with a higher education institution, scholarly society, or professional organization. Download, edit and distribute them at no cost. - FreeTechBooksThis site provides links to free online computer books and documentation. There are over 1000 books covering programming languages, scripting languages, operating systems, and other computer science topics like data structures, algorithms, object-oriented programming, logic programming, compiler design, software development and game development.
- IBM RedbooksDeveloped and published by IBM's ITSO, Redbooks provides guidance, installation and implementation experiences, solution scenarios, and "how-to" guides. Sample code and other support materials are often included. They are accessible by keyword search, publication date, or subject domains.
- National Academies Press: Computer SciencesThe National Academies Press offers free access to numerous books and reports on many subjects. This page lists titles in reverse chronological order and covers the subjects of computing and information technology, and related technologies.
- OAPEN: Online library and publication platformOAPEN promotes and supports open access for academic books by providing open infrastructure services to stakeholders in scholarly communication.
Browse by subject for Computer Science texts.
Requesting an Interlibrary Loan
The InterLibrary Loan service provides access to material not held in the University of Winnipeg Library. This service is available to students and faculty and staff members with a valid library card. The University of Winnipeg Library participates in several provincial, regional and national resource sharing agreements that extend users' access to materials held by other libraries.
You can place InterLibrary Loan requests by using one of these forms:
- article request form
- book request form
- conference proceedings request form
- technical report request form
There are also Request an InterLibrary Loan and Find Text links that you may find in our catalogue and databases when you discover a resource that is not held or unavailable at UWinnipeg. You can these links and it may take a few seconds to search for the item at other institutions. You may view a list of institutions where this item is available, or simply proceed. Upon entering your barcode, your request is placed and a confirmation message will be sent.