Mathematics
Librarian
Search the Reference Collection
The reference collection is a great place to begin your research. These short relevant articles will give the basic understanding you need to formulate a good research question.
Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
The University of Winnipeg Library has many dictionaries, encyclopedias and other reference sources that can help you find information about your topic. Some of the most useful ones for mathematics students are:
- Concise Oxford Dictionary of MathematicsAuthoritative and reliable, this A-Z provides jargon-free definitions for even the most technical mathematical terms. With 3,000 entries ranging from Achilles paradox to zero matrix, it covers all commonly encountered terms and concepts from pure and applied mathematics and statistics, for example, linear algebra, optimisation, nonlinear equations, and differential equations.
- Eric Weisstein's World of Mathematics (MathWorld)The web's most complete mathematical resource, assembled over more than a decade by internet encyclopedist Eric W. Weisstein with assistance from the mathematics and internet communities. MathWorld is a comprehensive and interactive mathematics encyclopedia intended for students, educators, math enthusiasts, and researchers. Like the vibrant and constantly evolving discipline of mathematics, this site is continuously updated to include new material and incorporate new discoveries.
Shelf Browsing
Mathematics branches out over many different subject areas. If you want to browse either the reference (main floor) or regular (upstairs) collections to find material, I would suggest that you look in the following sections:
QA 1-43 - General Mathematics
QA 47-59 - Tables
QA 71-90 - Instruments and Machines
QA 101-145 - Elementary Mathematics. Arithmetic
QA 150-272.5 - Algebra
QA 299.6-433 - Analysis
QA 440-699 - Geometry. Trigonometry. Topology
QA 801-939 - Analytic Mechanics