Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Mathematics

Mathematics ranges from Computer Science to Philosophy, from Physics to Finance. Mathematics emphasizes precision and logic, but also creativity and problem solving.

Select Journals

Finding a Particular Article

If you have the citation of an article, you can use the library's Journal Search to see if it's available in the library. Search for the Journal Title, then choose the database with the right volume and year.

Now navigate to volume, issue, and page number of your article. Remember, you will need to know the complete citation of an article to find it via the Journal Search.

Look for a Full-text link (PDF or HTML).

Searching the Databases

If you are looking for articles about a certain topic, you will want to search for the topic in one of our subscription Databases. You can select a broad, multi-disciplinary database (like the Popular Databases) or a narrow, subject-specific database (for example Mathematics).

Different databses will look different, but they are all designed to help you find Journal Articles. Try searching for your topic keywords. Explore the features that allow you to limit your results by Publication Date, Language, etc.

When you find an article you're interested in, look for a Full-text link (PDF or HTML). If there is no link to the full-text, try using the Find Text button. This will search through our other databases to see if the full-text is available elsewhere. if none of our databases have the full-text, you will have to request an Interlibrary Loan.

Requesting an Interlibrary Loan

Interlibrary Loan Requests can be submitted one of two ways:

  • by filling out a request form on our website.
  • using the Find Text link in one of our databases.

For example, if, when searching in an Ebsco database, you discover a resource that is unavailable here at the UofW, you can click Request an Interlibrary Loan. It will take few seconds to search for the item at other institutions. You may view a list of institutions where this item is available, or simply proceed. Upon entering your barcode, your request is placed.

Interlibrary loan materials may take a week or longer to arrive, so please have patience. If you item has not arrived within ten days, contact the Interlibrary Loan department at 786-9814.

Copyright

Databases Terms of Use