Sociology

This guide links to key resources relevant to Sociology.

Key Journals

American Journal of Sociology "... the first U.S. scholarly journal in its field, American Journal of Sociology remains a leading voice for analysis and research in the social sciences. The journal presents pathbreaking work from all areas of sociology, with an emphasis on theory building and innovative methods." (publisher's description)
Canadian Journal of Sociology "... publishes rigorously peer-reviewed research articles and innovative theoretical essays by social scientists from around the world, providing insight into the issues facing Canadian society as well as social and cultural systems in other countries." (publisher's description)
Canadian Social Trends Published by Statistics Canada, "[t]his publication discusses the social, economic, and demographic changes affecting the lives of Canadians."
Contemporary Sociology "... publishes reviews and critical discussions of recent works in sociology and related disciplines that merit the attention of sociologists." (publisher's description)
International Journal of Sociology and Social Policy "... provides an interdisciplinary forum for research and debate in all branches of sociology and social policy.The journal reflects current thought and practice, presenting comprehensive coverage of issues of international importance, in a lively and informative way." (publisher's description)
Social Research "Most issues of Social Research address a single theme, which is addressed by scholars, writers, and experts from a wide range of disciplines."
Sociological Quarterly "... publishes all areas of sociological inquiry. It is the journal of the Midwest Sociological Society." (publisher's description)
Sociological Review "... provides comprehensive coverage of all areas of sociology, social anthropology and cognate subjects such as cultural and women's studies, social policy and industrial relations." (publisher's description)
Sociology "The objective of Sociology is to publish outstanding and original peer-reviwed articles which advance the theoretical understanding of, and promote and report empirical research about the widest range of sociological topics." (publisher's description)
Theory and Society "... publishes theoretically-informed analyses of social processes, providing a forum for an international community of scholars." (publisher's description)

Important Databases

Databases are large aggregators of articles found in different journals. Some are discipline-specific, or has specialized search interfaces, both of which can make it easier to find relevant resources.

Sociological Abstracts [ProQuest] This link opens in a new window
Sociological Abstracts covers the international literature of sociology, social work, and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. It provides abstracting and indexing of articles and book reviews from serials publications, plus books, book chapters, dissertations, conference papers, and working papers.
SAGE Journals This link opens in a new window
SAGE Journals is a multidisciplinary collection of peer-reviewed journals published by SAGE. It contains material across a range of disciplines from the sciences, social sciences and humanities.
Web of Science [Web of Science] This link opens in a new window
Web of Science is a platform that provides access to citations, and abstracts allowing for in-depth exploration of fields within the sciences, social sciences, arts and humanities. It enables users to search current and retrospective multidisciplinary information from research journals, and provides search methods so users can navigate forwards and backwards through the literature.