It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This guide will help students doing English literature research.
The Oxford English Dictionary (OED) is widely regarded as the accepted authority on the English language. It is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of words past and presentfrom across the English-speaking world.
"... provides clear and concise, and often witty definitions of the most troublesome literary terms from abjection to zeugma. It is an essential reference tool for students of literature in any language."
"This is the most wide-ranging and up-to-date dictionary of critical theory available, covering the whole range of critical theory, including the Frankfurt school, cultural materialism, gender studies, literary theory, hermeneutics, historical materialism, and sociopolitical critical theory."
The Dictionary of Literary Biography Online provides access to biographical and critical essays on the lives, works, and careers of the world's most influential literary figures from all eras and genres.
"Allusions form a colourful extension to the English language, drawing on our collective knowledge of literature, mythology, and the Bible to provide us with a literary shorthand for describing people, places, and events." (publisher's description)
Historical Fiction II by Sarah L. Johnson (Editor)
Call Number: REF PS 374 H5J64 2005
Publication Date: 2009-03-30
Historical fiction has surged in popularity in recent years, with new subgenres emerging (e.g. Viking romance, religious thrillers) and reader interest showing no signs of slowing down. This follow-up to Johnson's critically acclaimed guide published in 2005 covers new territory by focusing on English-language historical novels for adults published between mid-2004 and mid-2008, in particular those commonly found in American public library collections. The author's unique approach involves classifying titles by subgenres, rather than strictly by geography and chronology; thereby grouping read-alikes together. It gives users a deeper understanding of the genre, an update on new titles, and an easy way to identify read-alikes and book club selections for library patrons. More than 2700 historical fiction titles, about 2,000 new to this volume, are organized and described.
The Greenwood Encyclopedia of Science Fiction and Fantasy by Gary Westfahl
Call Number: REF PS 374 S35G74 2005 v.1 -3
Publication Date: 2005-09-01
Works of science fiction and fantasy are enormously popular among students and general readers. The combined effort of some 150 expert contributors--including Richard Bleiler, John Clute, Ian Nichols, and Darrell Schweitzer--this encyclopedia discusses pervasive themes in science fiction and fantasy and gives detailed attention to selected novels, films, and television series. The first two volumes provide 400 alphabetically arranged entries on individual themes, while the last volume includes alphabetically arranged entries on 200 particular works. Accessible to a wide range of audiences, this encyclopedia is destined to be a favorite resource for anyone interested in fantasy and science fiction. While other references provide relatively brief entries, or offer essays on a limited group of writers, this encyclopedia gives extensive treatment to the most important themes and works of science fiction and fantasy across a range of media. Gary Westfahl, and internationally recognized authority on science fiction and fantasy, has coordinated the effort of some 150 expert contributors. In addition, the project was shaped by an advisory board of some of the most distinguished names in the field, including: Richard Bleiler; John Clute; Fiona Kelleghan; David Langford; Andy Sawyer; And Darrell Schweitzer. Canonical works of science fiction and fantasy are central to the curriculum, while more popular works are being taught with greater frequency and often appear on summer reading lists. The format of this encyclopedia makes it an essential tool for students writing thematic essays, and teachers will also value it as guide for planning lessons. In addition to high school libraries, public libraries supporting student research or book discussion groups will welcome the lucid, thoughtful essays in this encyclopedia.