Library Help Chat Skip to Main Content

International Development Studies

This Guide provides a starting point for materials on International Development Studies.

Key Databases

Taylor & Francis Online This link opens in a new window
Taylor & Francis Online is a multidisciplinary collection of peer-reviewed journals published by Taylor & Francis, and also includes imprints like Routledge, Psychology Press, CRC Press and Garland Science. It primarily contains material across a range of disciplines from Social Science and Humanities.
Sociological Abstracts [ProQuest] This link opens in a new window
Sociological Abstracts covers the international literature of sociology, social work, and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. It provides abstracting and indexing of articles and book reviews from serials publications, plus books, book chapters, dissertations, conference papers, and working papers.
EconLit [EBSCOhost] This link opens in a new window
EconLit is a comprehensive, indexed bibliography with selected abstracts of the world's economic literature, produced by the American Economic Association. It includes coverage of journals as well as articles in collective volumes (essays, proceedings, etc.), books, book reviews, dissertations, and working papers licensed from the Cambridge University Press Abstracts of Working Papers in Economics. EconLit covers virtually every area related to economics.
Peace Research Abstracts [EBSCOhost] This link opens in a new window
Peace Research Abstracts includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to peace research, including conflict resolution, international affairs, peace psychology, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.

Key Journals

African Development Review "... a professional journal devoted to the study and analysis of development policy in Africa. Published four times a year for the African Development Bank, the Review emphasizes policy relevance of research findings, rather than purely theoretical and quantitative issues."
Canadian Journal of Development Studies "... a peer-reviewed, interdisciplinary, bilingual forum for critical research and reflection on the complex problems of international development theory, policy and practice."
Community Development The journal of the Community Development Society (CDS) aims at "... improving knowledge and practice in the field of purposive community change. The mission of the journal is to disseminate information on theory, research and practice."
Community Development Journal "... the leading international journal in its field, covering a wide range of topics, reviewing significant developments and providing a forum for cutting-edge debates about theory and practice."
Development and Change "Truly interdisciplinary in character, it includes contributions from all the social sciences and all intellectual persuasions concerned with development. With its history of publishing unconventional and challenging articles, the journal covers a broad range of topics in a mix of regular and special theme issues."
Development in Practice "... offers practice-based analysis and research relating to development and humanitarianism providing a worldwide forum for the exchange of ideas and experiences among practitioners, scholars, policy shapers, and activists."
Development Policy Review "... the refereed journal that makes the crucial links between research and policy in international development. Edited by staff of the Overseas Development Institute, the London-based think-tank on international development and humanitarian issues, it publishes single articles and theme issues on topics at the forefront of current development policy debate."
Journal of Developing Societies "... a refereed international journal on development and social change in all societies." Older issues in Chadwyck-Healey and Academic Search
Journal of Development Economics "... publishes original research papers relating to all aspects of economic development - from immediate policy concerns to structural problems of underdevelopment."
Journal of Development Studies "... one of the best known international journals in the area of development studies. Since its foundation in 1964, it has published many seminal articles on development and opened up new areas of debate."
Journal of International Development "... aims to publish the best research on international development issues in a form that is accessible to practitioners and policy-makers as well as to an academic audience."
Journal of International Relations and Development "... an independent and internationally peer-reviewed journal in international relations and international political economy. It publishes articles on contemporary world politics and the global political economy from a variety of methodologies and approaches."
World Development "... seeks to explore ways of improving standards of living, and the human condition generally, by examining potential solutions to problems such as: poverty, unemployment, malnutrition, disease, lack of shelter, environmental degradation, inadequate scientific and technological resources, trade and payments imbalances, international debt, gender and ethnic discrimination, militarism and civil conflict, and lack of popular participation in economic and political life."