Physical Geography
This guide will serve as a starting point for students in Physical Geography.
Librarian
Key Journals
- Catena "... publishes papers describing original field and laboratory investigations and reviews on geoecology and landscape evolution with emphasis on interdisplinary aspects of soil science, hydrology and geomorphology." (publisher's description)
- Earth Surface Processes and Landforms "The journal of the British Society for Geomorphology, ... foci include the physical geography of our river, valley, glacier, mountain, hill, slope, coast, desert and estuary environments; alongside responses to Holocene, Pleistocene or Quaternary environmental change." (publisher's description)
- European Journal of Soil Science "... as one of the premier journals in the field, [this journal] fosters that understanding by publishing the latest significant findings of research, the description of new techniques, and up-to-date authoritative and critical reviews over the whole field of soil science and its applications." (publisher's description)
- Geomorphology "... peer-reviewed works across the full spectrum of the discipline from fundamental theory and science to applied research of relevance to sustainable management of the environment." (publisher's description)
- Hydrological Processes "... an international journal devoted to the publication of original scientific and technical papers in hydrology." (publisher's description)
- Journal of Climate "Original research papers & critical surveys related to atmospheres of earth & other planets, emphasizing quantitative & deductive aspects of physics & dynamics of atmospheric processes & phenomena." (ebsco)
- Journal of Quaternary Science "... publishes original papers on any field of Quaternary research, and aims to promote a wider appreciation and deeper understanding of the earth's history during the last 2.58 million years." (publisher's description)
- Journal of the Atmospheric Science "Basic research related to the physics, dynamics and chemistry of the atmosphere of the earth and other planets, with emphasis on the quantitative and deductive aspects of the subject aimed at members of the American Meteorological Society." (ebsco)
- Progress in Physical Geography "... a peer-reviewed, international journal, encompassing an interdisciplinary approach incorporating the latest developments and debates within Physical Geography and interrelated fields across the Earth, Biological and Ecological System Sciences." (publisher's description)
- Water Resources "Examines and reports developments in assessing water resources, integrated water-resource use, water quality, and environmental protection, as well as the social and legal aspects of water-resources conservation." (ulrichsweb)
Key Databases
- GeoRefA comprehensive database for the geosciences and continues to grow by more than 100,000 references a year.
- ProQuest Research Library... a large, multidisciplinary database, providing thorough access to many full-text articles in geography.
- Web of ScienceWeb of Science is a platform that provides access to citations, abstracts, and conference proceedings allowing for in-depth exploration of fields within the sciences, social sciences, arts and humanities. It enables users to search current and retrospective multidisciplinary information from many research journals. It also provides a unique search method, cited reference searching, which users can navigate forward, backward, and through the literature, searching all disciplines and time spans to uncover all the information relevant to their research. Other unique features this database possesses are Analyze Results, and Create Citation Reports.