Marriage and Family Therapy

Information resources for students doing research in the area of Marriage and Family Therapy.

Scholarly Journal Articles

Written by and for academics and published by universities or scholarly associations, academic journal articles are the backbone of scholarly research. Importantly, most are peer-reviewed, which means that articles are reviewed by a panel of experts in the field of study before they appear in the journal. The best way to find these articles is to search in subject-specific databases, which collect and organize research from a particular field of study. Below you'll find a list of some of the most useful databases and journal titles in the field.

Databases

PsycInfo [EBSCOhost] This link opens in a new window
PsycINFO contains abstracts of peer-reviewed scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations in the disciplines of behavioral science and mental health. It contains records and summaries dating as far back as the 1600s with journal coverage spaning from the 1800s to the present in dozens of languages.
Sociological Abstracts [ProQuest] This link opens in a new window
Sociological Abstracts covers the international literature of sociology, social work, and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. It provides abstracting and indexing of articles and book reviews from serials publications, plus books, book chapters, dissertations, conference papers, and working papers.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed is the U.S. National Library of Medicine's free, web searchable database which includes the online version of Index Medicus. It is an international index to biomedical research covering medicine, bio-medical sciences, and psychiatry and contains indexing and citation from 1946 to present, and provides access to open access articles.

Select Journals

Select a link below to browse or search within a particular journal title.

American Journal of Family Therapy
"... continues to be the incisive, authoritative, independent voice in an ever-changing field." (Routledge)
Child and Adolescent Social Work Journal
"Focuses on clinical social work practice with children, adolescents and their families." (ulrichsweb)
Contemporary Family Therapy
"Presents the latest theory, research, and practice with an emphasis on examination of the family within the socioeconomic matrix of which it is an integral part." (ulrichsweb)
Journal of Child and Family Studies
"Features original papers on basic and applied research, program evaluation, service delivery and policy issues." (ulrichsweb)
Journal of Family Psychotherapy
"Designed with the practicing clinician in mind, [this journal] features a case study orientation that makes for very interesting reading." (Routledge)
Journal of Family Therapy
"... advances the understanding and treatment of human relationships constituted in systems such as couples, families, professional networks, and wider groups, by publishing articles on theory, research, clinical practice and training." (Wiley-Blackwell)