Marriage and Family Therapy
Information resources for students doing research in the area of Marriage and Family Therapy.
Need help?
Joshua Herter
he/him
Contact:
UWinnipeg Library
Centennial Hall | 4CM05B
Centennial Hall | 4CM05B
Subjects: Marriage & Family Therapy, Psychology
Finding Tests and Measures
Tests and measures are proprietary products generally owned by an individual or a company, so they can be difficult to obtain. Students are sometimes asked to find information on these protocols, but is not expected that they pay to obtain a copy. Many authors/owners of these measures are happy to provide a sample for student use (if they can be contacted), and there are resources listed below that summarize the methodologies, reliability, and efficacy used in common tests and measures. Finally, there are lots of journal articles written about these tests and measures that assess and document their use.
Doing research in this area can be tricky, so feel free to contact the MFT librarian if you need assistance.
Testing and Measurement Resources
Mental Measurements YearbookCall Number: BF 431 M46 (current 2yrs in Reference)Produced by the Buros Institute of Mental Measurements at the University of Nebraska, the Mental Measurements Yearbook⢠(MMY) provides users with a comprehensive guide to over 2,700 contemporary testing instruments. Online index: http://www.unl.edu/buros/bimm/html/index00.html
Conducting Psychological AssessmentISBN: 9781119687238Publication Date: 2020Beginning-to-end, step-by-step guidance on how to conduct multi-method psychological assessments from a leader in the field The Second Edition of Conducting Psychological Assessment: A Guide for Practitioners delivers an insightful overview of the overall integrative psychological assessment process. Rather than focus on individual tests, accomplished assessment psychologist, professor, and author A. Jordan Wright offers readers a comprehensive roadmap of how to navigate the multi-method psychological assessment process. This newest edition maintains the indispensable foundational models from the first edition and adds nuance and details from the author's last ten years of clinical and academic experience. New ways of integrating and reconciling conflicting data are discussed, as are new models of personality functioning. All readers of this book will benefit from: A primer on the overall process of psychological assessment An explanation of how to integrate the data from the administration, scoring, and interpretation phases into a fully conceptualized report Actual case examples and sample assessment cases that span the entire process.
Handbook of Psychological AssessmentISBN: 9780128025147Publication Date: 2019The fourth edition of the Handbook of Psychological Assessment, provides scholarly overviews of the major areas of psychological assessment, including test development, psychometrics, technology of testing, and commonly used assessment measures. Psychological assessment is included for all ages, with new coverage encompassing ethnic minorities and the elderly. Assessment methodology discussed includes formal testing, interviewing, and observation of behavior. The handbook also discusses assessment of personality and behavior, including intelligence, aptitude, interest, achievement, personality and psychopathology. New coverage includes use of assessments in forensic applications.
Copyright