Environmental Toxicology

An introduction to library materials for students of environmental toxicology.

Search the Reference Collection

The reference collection is a great place to begin your research. These short relevant articles will give the basic understanding you need to formulate a good research question.

Search the Reference collection:

Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

Agency for Toxic Substances and Disease Registry
The Agency for Toxic Substances and Disease Registry (ATSDR), based in Atlanta, Georgia, is a federal public health agency of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. ATSDR serves the public by using the best science, taking responsive public health actions, and providing trusted health information to prevent harmful exposures and diseases related to toxic substances.
(DOSE) Dictionary of Substances and their Effects
"... a single source of all relevant data for the accurate assessment of the risks associated with the use of chemicals of environmental concern." (publisher's description)
Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology
"... presents a wide scope of articles on chemical substances—including their properties, manufacturing, and uses. (...) Additionally, environmental and health issues concerning chemical technology are also addressed." (publisher's description)
Hazardous Chemicals Desk Reference
Provides properties and safety information for 5000 of the most important hazardous chemicals.
Toxics A to Z : a Guide to Everyday Pollution Hazards
Basic toxicology for the layperson.

Shelf Browsing

Environemntal Studies consists of many different subject areas. If you want to browse either the reference (main floor) or regular (upstairs) collections to find material, I would suggest that you look in the following sections:

GE 1-350 - Env. sciences

GE 70-90 - Env. education

GE 170-190 - Env. policy

GE 195-199 - Green movement

GE 300-350 - Env. management

Other area that may be of interest are listed on the Biology and Chemistry subject guides.