Environmental Toxicology

An introduction to library materials for students of environmental toxicology.

Welcome

Welcome to the Environmental Toxicology Research Guide!

Environmental toxicology, also known as entox, is a multidisciplinary field of science concerned with the study of the harmful effects of various chemical, biological and physical agents on living organisms.

This guide will help point out some useful resources available to you that can assist you in doing your research.

Quick Links

This course provides an understanding of how and why chemicals may damage humans and other organisms. A basic understanding of principles of toxicology and environmental chemical exposure (i.e., ecotoxicology) is presented, followed by detailed analysis of the physiological and/or biochemical mechanisms by which toxicants cause effects, and of the body’s defenses against toxicants. Toxicological modeling and environmental risk assessment are introduced. Objective research from the relevant scientific literature will be studied to highlight topics of study and demonstrate case studies.

Material Safety Data Sheet (MSDS) Search
Provided by the Canadian Centre for Occupational Health and Safety (CCOHS), this page lets you search for and display MSDS data for many chemicals.

SciFinder-n This link opens in a new window
This resource can only be used by current students, faculty/staff.
SciFinder Scholar provides access to scientific research in numerous disciplines including biomedical sciences, chemistry, engineering, materials science, and agricultural science. SciFinder is composed of numerous research databases including the Chemical Abstracts Registry, CASREACT, CHEMLIST, CHEMCAT, and MEDLINE.
For instructions on how to register/create an account see “Additional Information”
Please note: Users are required to register for an individual account to access SciFinder. To create a free account, fill out and submit this registration form.
You must register/create an account while you are on-campus, and must use your UWinnipeg email address.
Web of Science [Web of Science] This link opens in a new window
Web of Science is a platform that provides access to citations, and abstracts allowing for in-depth exploration of fields within the sciences, social sciences, arts and humanities. It enables users to search current and retrospective multidisciplinary information from research journals, and provides search methods so users can navigate forwards and backwards through the literature.
TOXLINE [ProQuest] This link opens in a new window
TOXLINE provides bibliographic citations and abstracts from the core journal literature in all areas of toxicology, including chemicals and pharmaceuticals, pesticides, environmental pollutants and mutagens and teratogens. It is produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine.