"... now, from Sage – the publisher of criminal justice abstracts and other standards in the field – comes the ultimate reference source on this all-consuming subject: comprehensive, authoritative, up-to-the second."
This authoritative volume explores different perspectives on economic and social justice and the challenges presented by and within the criminal justice system. It critically discusses key concerns involved in realizing economic and social justice, including systemic issues in economic and social justice, issues related to organizations and social institutions, special issues regarding specific populations, and a review of national and international organizations that promote economic justice. Addressing more than just the ideology and theory underlying economic and social justice, the book presents chapters with practical examples and research on how economic and social justice might be achieved within the criminal justice systems of the world. With contributions from leading scholars around the globe, this book is an essential reference for scholars with an interest in economic and social justice from a wide range of disciplines, including criminal justice and criminology as well as sociology, social work, public policy, and law.
As seen almost daily on local and national news, race has historically and continues to feature prominently in reporting on crime and justice within the United States, whether the issue be hate crimes, racial profiling, sentencing disparities, wrongful convictions, felon disenfranchisement, political prisoners, juveniles and the death penalty, or culturally specific delinquency prevention programs. This encyclopedia covers issues in both historical and contemporary context, with information on race and ethnicity and their impact on crime and the administration of justice. Through entries in this encyclopedia, readers will gain a greater appreciation for the similar historical experiences of varied racial and ethnic groups and will see how race and ethnicity has mattered and continues to matter in the administration of American criminal justice.
This is the first reference work to offer the wealth of material on women and crime to a general audience. More than 200 authoritative contributors from the United States, Canada, the United Kingdom, and Australia examine the subject from the perspectives of offenders, offenses, and theories on offending, victims and victimology, the criminal justice system, punishment and treatment.
From boot camps to truancy, the Encyclopedia of Juvenile Justice provides more than 200 up-to-date, concise, and readable entries in a single, authoritative volume. The editors, noted authors of several criminal justice books and editors of the award-winning Encyclopedia of Prisons, cover historical and contemporary theories, concepts, and real-world practices of juvenile justice in the United States. The entries address a broad range of issues and topics, such as alcohol and drug abuse, arson, the death penalty for juveniles, computer and Internet crime, gun violence, gangs, missing children, school violence, teen pregnancy, and delinquency theories. In addition, topics cover society's response to the problems of juvenile justice, punishments meted out to America's juvenile offenders, juvenile rehabilitation programs, and well-known researchers and professionals in the field. Key Features More than 200 articles, written by a stellar collection of academic theorists and real-world practitioners Complete review of the complicated juvenile legal and court system, juvenile punishment, rehabilitation efforts, and legislation Extensive entries on child and adolescent crimes, pathologies, and problems Coverage of psychological, biological, and sociological theories of delinquency, as well as historic "body type" theories Addresses such historical topics as the deinstitutionalization movement, the Chicago Area Project, and the Provo Experiment Profiles historic theorists and policymakers in juvenile justice Includes a special appendix on print and electronic resources on juvenile justice Comprehensive index, including a reader's guide that facilitates browsing and offers easy access to information Recommended Libraries Public, academic, school, law/legal, special, and private/corporate
Offering approximately 600 entries, this work provides unprecedented complete and systematic coverage of modern criminology and criminal justice, include the broad fields of related to criminology, such as sociology, law and certain areas of psychology.