Film Studies

The Film program includes filmmaking (writing, directing, shooting, and editing) as well as the study of the history of film

Indexes and Databases

Use the databases and indexes listed below to find articles in scholarly journals, popular magazines or newspapers.

Film Literature Index
Freely available Internet database containing approximately 700,000 citations to film, television and video articles, reviews and book reviews published between 1976 and 2001.

Readers' Guide Retrospective [Ebscohost] This link opens in a new window
Readers Guide Retrospective: 1890-1982 indexes general-interest periodicals and some journals published in the United States. It provides access to information about history, culture and seminal developments across nearly a century.
Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective [EBSCOhost] This link opens in a new window
Humanities and Social Science Index Retrospective is a bibliographic database that indexes a wide range of journals in the Humanities and Social Sciences between 1907 and 1984. It indexes scholarly journals that were published throughout the 20th century in all aspects of the humanities and social sciences from North American and European periodicals, it includes peer-reviewed articles as well as book reviews.

Project MUSE
Primary Search provides full text for popular magazines for elementary school research. All full text articles included in the database are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles), and go as far back as 1990.

Alphaville: Journal of Film and Screen Media
Film-Philosophy
Hollywood Studio System Collection (1913-1948)
Images: A Journal of Film and Popular Culture
Screening the Past | A Peer-Reviewed Journal of Screen History, Theory & Criticism
Senses of Cinema
Hollywood Studio System Collection (1913-1948)

The periodicals in this collection chart the studio system during its rise, the transition to sound, and Great Depression years. The periodicals present a variety of points of view within the industry, from the production-oriented Hollywood Reporter to the exhibitor-oriented publication Harrison’s Reports, a “reviewing service free from the influence of film advertising.” The cornerstone of this collection is a two decade run of The Film Daily, a leading motion picture trade paper published out of New York that reached participants involved in all aspects of the movie business. The Film Daily includes innumerable reviews of features and shorts, news reports from throughout the industry, occasional features stories, and hundreds of full-page ads.