Master’s in Development Practice

"The African Development Bank is a regional multilateral development finance institution, whose purpose is to further the economic development and social progress of African countries. To this end, the Bank promotes the investment of public and private capital for development, primarily by providing loans and grants for projects that contribute to the growth and development of African economies."

"In print since 1971, the American Indian Culture and Research Journal is an internationally renowned multidisciplinary journal designed for scholars and the general public. The premier journal in Native American studies, it publishes book reviews, literature, and original scholarly papers on a wide range of issues in the fields of history, anthropology, geography, sociology, political science, health, literature, law, education, and the arts. "

"explores decisions and challenges related to conceptualizing, designing and conducting evaluations. Four times/year it offers original, peer-reviewed, articles about the methods, theory, ethics, politics, and practice of evaluation."

Leading international multidisciplinary journal in the field of development studies and social change

"Evaluation is interdisciplinary, international peer reviewed journal. Over the last two decades, evaluation has become a major issue for academics, governmental and public organizations and businesses throughout the world. Evaluation was launched to promote dialogue internationally and to build bridges within this expanding field."

"Evaluation and Program Planning is based on the principle that the techniques and methods of evaluation and planning transcend the boundaries of specific fields and that relevant contributions to these areas come from people representing many different positions, intellectual traditions, and interests."

"The only journal of its kind in Canada, the Journal of Aboriginal Economic Development (JAED) provides a view of economic development from a uniquely Aboriginal perspective."

Aluka is an international, collaborative initiative building an online digital library of scholarly resources from and about Africa. ‘Aluka’, is derived from a Zulu word meaning ‘to weave’, reflecting our commitment to connect resources and scholars from around the world...The Aluka website includes a wide variety of high-quality scholarly materials contributed by our partners, ranging from archival documents, periodicals, books, reports, manuscripts, and reference works, to three-dimensional models, maps, oral histories, plant specimens, photographs, and slides.

provides full-text access to significant decisions made by Canadian tribunals, courts and boards of inquiry related to human rights.

Human Relations Area Files (HRAF) is a database of cultural materials, focusing on pre-industrial cultures from around the world, and on North American immigrant groups.

Maintained by the Institute of Development Studies, Sussex, Eldis contains 26,000 online full-text documents, an ever-growing collection of editorially selected and abstracted full-text, online documents selected by our editors from more than 7,500 different publishers, and 30 subject-focused guides.

Indexes literature on all aspects of Native peoples.

EBSCO now offers GreenFILE, a freely accessible research database focusing on the relationship between human beings and the environment, with well-researched but accessible information on topics ranging from global warming to recycling to alternate fuel sources and beyond.

The Handbook is a bibliography on Latin America consisting of works selected and annotated by scholars. Edited by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress, the multidisciplinary Handbook alternates annually between the social sciences and the humanities

HuriSearch is a human rights search engine. It enables you to search the content of over 5000 websites. Because HuriSearch indexes only human rights websites, this means that it retrieves only results that are relevant to human rights.

The Indigenous Studies Portal (iPortal) connects faculty, students, researchers and members of the community with electronic resources: books, articles, theses, documents, photographs, archival resources, maps, etc.

A bibliographic database which indexes and abstracts articles in the field of political science (including the sub-fields of public administration, political theory and international relations) published in journals (and yearbooks) all over the world.

The Latin American Open Archives Portal is a project of the Latin Americanist Research Resources Project - LARRP, in collaboration with the Latin American Network Information Center - LANIC, to improve access to social sciences grey literature produced in Latin America. The portal provides access to working documents, pre-prints, research papers, statistical documents, and other difficult-to-access materials from the "deep Web." Typically, this content is published by research institutes, non-governmental organizations, and peripheral agencies that are not controlled by commercial publishers.

ODS covers all types of official United Nations documentation, beginning in 1993. Older UN documents are, however, added to the system on a daily basis. ODS also provides access to the resolutions of the General Assembly, Security Council, Economic and Social Council and the Trusteeship Council from 1946 onwards.

Peace Research Abstracts includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to peace research, including conflict resolution, international affairs, peace psychology, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline. The index contains 245,000 records, which are carefully selected from the most important sources within the discipline.

Population Index is the primary reference tool to the world's population literature. It presents an annotated bibliography of recently published books, journal articles, working papers, and other materials on population topics. This website provides a searchable and browsable database containing 46,035 abstracts of demographic literature published in Population Index in the period 1986-2000.

Race Relations Abstracts includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to race relations, including ethnic studies, discrimination, immigration studies, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline. The index contains 43,000 records, which are carefully selected from the most important sources within the discipline.

The Statesman's Yearbook includes reliable information on all 194 countries in the world plus states and dependencies. In a world where opinion, propaganda and inaccuracy are frequently put forward as fact, The Statesman's Yearbook remains the first point of reference for anyone needing reliable, concise information on any country in the world.

Academic Search Premier is a multi-disciplinary database that offers full-text access to more than 4,600 titles, including 3,900 peer-reviewed journals.

Provides access to the practices and theories of radical social change, and focuses on socialism, national liberation, labor, indigenous peoples, gays/lesbians, feminism, ecology, democracy, and anarchism.

This database provides citations to papers and poster sessions presented at major scientific meetings around the world. Subject emphasis since 1995 has been in the life sciences, environmental sciences and the aquatic sciences, while older material also covers physics, engineering and materials science.

MyiLibrary eBook platform provides access to ebook titles and content. Interdisciplinary, includes environmental sciences and development issues.

ProQuest Research Library consists of two components: a core list of periodicals, which covers about 4,000 publications, and fifteen subject-specific modules that supplement the core list. Modules provide coverage of the following areas: arts, business, children, education, general interest, health, humanities, international studies, law, military, multicultural studies, psychology, sciences, social sciences, womenÍs interests.

A collection of encyclopedias covering a wide range of subject areas, including anthropology, criminal justice, leadership, governance, homelessness, human geography, politics, psychology, statistics, terrorism, and many more.

Wiley Online Library offers access to a multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities. This database contains more than 4 million articles from 1,500 journals. The Library has access to most Wiley journal articles published after 1996.

This database provides abstracts and indexing of the international literature of political science and international relations, along with complementary fields, including international law and public administration/policy.