Library Help Chat Skip to Main Content

Political Science

Suggested Subject Headings

[Nation state] Politics and government
Political Science
[Subdivides geographically]
Political Science - Philosophy
Power - Philosophy
Power - Social sciences
XX -- Political aspects
XX -- Politics and government
[Name of Nation/Province/State] Politics and government

Call Numbers

Subclass JA

JA1‑92 Political science (General)

JA1‑26 Periodicals

JA27‑34 Societies

JA35.5 Congresses

JA60‑64 Dictionaries and encyclopedias

JA71‑80 Theory. Relations to other subjects

JA81‑84 History

JA86‑88 Study and teaching. Research

JA92 Collective biography of political scientists

Subclass JC

JC11‑605 Political theory. The state. Theories of the state

Subclass JF

JF20‑2112 Political institutions and public administration

Subclass JJ

JJ1000‑1019 Political institutions and public administration

(North America)

Subclass JK

JK1‑9993 Political institutions and public administration

(United States)

Subclass JL

JL1‑3899 Political institutions and public administration

(Canada, Latin America, etc.)

JL1‑500 Canada

JL198	Provincial government
JL200-209	Newfoundland
JL210-219	Prince Edward Island
JL220-229	Nova Scotia
JL230-239	New Brunswick
JL240-259	Québec
JL260-279	Ontario
JL280-299	Manitoba
JL300-319	Saskatchewan
JL320-339	Alberta
JL420-439	British Columbia
JL460-479	Northwest Territories
JL480-489	Nunavut
JL495	Yukon Territory
JL498	Maritime Provinces (collectively)
JL500	Prairie Provinces (collectively)

JL599.5‑839 West Indies. Caribbean Area

JL1200‑1299 Mexico

JL1400‑1679 Central America

JL1850‑3899 South America

Subclass JN

JN1‑9689 Political institutions and public administration (Europe)

JN1‑97 General

JN101‑9689 By country

Subclass JQ

JQ21‑6651 Political institutions and public administration (Asia,

Africa, Australia, Pacific Area, etc.)

Subclass JS

JS39‑8500 Local government. Municipal government

JS300‑8490.9 By country

Subclass JV

JV1‑9480 Colonies and colonization. Emigration and

immigration. International migration

Subclass JZ

JZ5‑6530 International relations

Search WorldCat Local

Library of Congress Call Numbers
We use the LC classification system to organize our books. You can browse the collection in the appropriate area using this system. What's the section for your topic?
Library of Congress Subject Headings
Each book in the library is given at least one subject heading. Use the LC authorities to find the best subject heading for your topic. Remember, our library may not have something under every heading. Search above to see our library's holdings.

Grey Literature

Canadian Public Policy Collection
Through ebrary - Can refine search by limiting to topic categories and subcategories.

Some Conflict Resolution Subject Headings

Each book in the library is given at least one authorized Library of Congress Subject Heading. You can search for the authorized heading(s) associated with your topic in the LC Subject Authorities, then use the heading in your searches for better results.

The following list is of broad subject divisions in Conflict Resolution Studies. You may identify narrower subjects related to your topic within these lists, or by searching for your subject in the catalogue.

Conflict Management
Scope: Here are entered works which discuss the process of reducing, resolving or suppressing conflict in social and organizational settings producing constructive rather than destructive results. (LC Subject Authorities)
Human Rights
Scope: Here are entered works on the rights of persons regardless of their legal, socioeconomic or cultural status and as recognized by the international community. Works on citizens' rights as established by law and protected by constitution are under Civil rights. (LC Subject Authorities)
International relations
Scope: Here are entered theoretical works on the relations among the nations of the world. Works on general political history and historical accounts of relations among nations are entered under World politics. Works on the foreign relations of an individual country are entered under the name of the country with the subdivision Foreign relations.
Peace-building
Scope: Here are entered works on actions taken after a conflict to identify and support those political and social structures that serve to strengthen and solidify the peace and avoid a relapse into conflict. (LC Subject Authorities)
Restorative Justice
Scope: Involves processes and programs whereby an offender is required to provide restoration or compensation to the victim(s) or society, in the form of money or services, as a condition of the sentence or of probation.

Theses and Dissertations

The National Library of Canada Thesis Portal
The mission of Theses Canada is to acquire and preserve a comprehensive collection of Canadian theses at Library and Archives Canada (LAC), to provide access to this valuable research within Canada and throughout the world.
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses
This database is the world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1861 to the present day.

Copyright

Databases Terms of Use