Cities of the Middle East and North Africa by Bruce E. Stanley (Editor); Michael Richard Thomas Dumper (Editor)
Call Number: REF HT 147.5 C57 2007
Publication Date: 2006-11-27
The first work to offer 5,000 years of authoritative historical coverage of ancient and modern cities in the Middle East and North AfricaOCofrom their founding to the presentOCohighlighting each city's cultural, social, political, and economic significance."
Encyclopedia of Jewish History by Joseph Alpher (Editor)
Call Number: REF DS 118 E465 1986b
Publication Date: 1986-02-01
A collaboration by thirty eminent scholars, this volume offers a clear, concise overview of Jewish history, faith, and culture.
Historical Dictionary of the Arab-Israeli Conflict by P. R. Kumaraswamy
Call Number: REF DS 119.7 K85 2006
Publication Date: 2006-09-05
For over a century, the conflict between the Arabs and Jews has remained the most intractable problem confronting the world. Hardly a day passes that the Arab-Israeli Conflict is not headlined in the media. It has turned the Arabs and Israelis against one another, and also embittered relations within the two communities, while drawing the rest of the world into the circle of disruption. The Historical Dictionary of the Arab-Israeli Conflict provides factual background through a list of acronyms and abbreviations, an introductory essay, a chronology, a bibliography, and hundreds of cross-referenced dictionary entries on the more significant persons, places and events, including the various wars and negotiations. The history, religion, culture, and archeology that this rivalry has sparked between the Arabs and Israelis over the same piece of territory is traced in this book, which offers the essential details using neutral terms and thereby allowing readers to draw conclusions for themselves.
The Dictionary of the Israeli-Palestinian Conflict covers the history of the conflict, going back to the birth of Zionism at the end of the 19th century including the five Arab-Israeli wars, and provides biographies of political personnel in Syria, Egypt, Iraq, Lebanon, Jordan, and the occupied territories. The Dictionary provides clear definitions and comprehensive explanations of the elements at play - history, geography, religion, demographics, etc. It supports the acquisition of knowledge about this topic - not just dissemination of information.