It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This detailed encyclopedia is the first to explore the many peoples of early European civilization. Viewed as "barbarian" through the lens of ancient Greece and Rome, these civilizations were responsible for such accomplishments as the rise of farming in the Neolithic era and the building of Stonehenge. Coverage extends from prehistoric origins through the early Middle Ages (8000 B.C. to A.D. 1000) when tribal movements helped define the end of ancient culture and the rise of the modern European world. Features include 250 black-and-white illustrations; 20 maps; a chronology; a topical outline and index; color frontispieces and two eight-page color inserts; cartographic endpapers; and more.
Dictionary of Concepts in History by Harry Ritter
Call Number: REF D 13 R49 1986
Publication Date: 1986-09-23
Encyclopedia of Modern Asia
Call Number: DS 4 E63 2002
Publication Date: 2002-11-27
This encyclopedia is an overview of American law covering historical and modern terms, concepts, events, movements, cases and persons significant to US law. Entries range from brief definitions of legal jargon to examinations of courtroom procedure, from explanations of complex topics such as civil rights to biographies of standout attorneys, from analyses of controversial issues such as gun control to transcripts of crucial Supreme Court decisions.
The Encyclopedia of the Cold War by Spencer C. Tucker (Editor); Priscilla Mary Roberts (Contribution by); John S. D. Eisenhower (Foreword by)
Call Number: D 840 E43 2008
Publication Date: 2007-09-12
A comprehensive five-volume reference on the defining conflict of the second half of the 20th century, covering all aspects of the Cold War as it influenced events around the world.
Encyclopedia of the Stateless Nations by James Minahan
Call Number: D 860 M56 2002
Publication Date: 2002-05-30
Nationalism is a mighty force in the 21st century. It has not been so politically significant since prior to World War I. While current trends tilt toward regional economic groupings, national identity--and demands for greater political and economic autonomy--has created a national, regional, and in
Encyclopedia of the Victorian Era by James E. Adams; Tom Pendergast; Sara Pendergast
Call Number: DA 550 E527 2004
Publication Date: 2003-10-01
- Correlates with standards and benchmarks in World History and Social Studies - Valuable for a wide range of courses, including history; literature; art history; social studies; gender studies; science, technology, and society; social movements; economics; political science; and religion and philosophy - Offers an interdisciplinary approach to a major historical era - Discusses and analyzes often-studied topics such as industralization, social thought and reform, colonial expansion, and cultural identity - International in scope: focus is on Britain, but articles cover British influence in the United States, Europe, Ireland, and the British Empire, including special attention to India, Australia, and Africa - Selected primary sources, with commentary, offer documentary evidence of major themes of the era - Provides coverage of all aspects of everyday life, domestic life, and social conditions - Articles are written in a clear, concise, and engaging manner by scholars and experts in their fields
Historicism is the essential introduction to this crucial concept in literary studies. This edition has been fully revised and includes a new glossary of critical terms, fully updated bibliography, clear suggestions for additional reading, as well as new discussion of Historicism's relation to the globalization debate.
*explains the theory and practice of historicism
*presents the history of the term and its uses
*introduces key thinkers in the field, from ancient Greece to the present
*considers historicism in relation to contemporary debates, such as post-colonialism, feminism and globalization.
This compact, yet comprehensive guide enables students to understand and apply historicist approaches in their own studies.
International Encyclopedia of Military History by James C. Bradford (Editor)
Call Number: D 25 A2I58 2004
Publication Date: 2006-06-02
With its impressive breadth of coveragenbsp;- both geographically and chronologicallynbsp;- the International Encyclopedia of Military History is the most up-to-date and inclusive A-Z resource on military history. From uniforms and military insignia worn by combatants to the brilliant military leaders and tacticians who commanded them, the campaigns and wars to the weapons and equipment used in them, this international and multi-cultural two-volume set is an accessible resource combining the latest scholarship in the field with a world perspective on military history.
Nations and Nationalism by Guntram H. Herb (Editor); David H. Kaplan (Editor)
Call Number: D 299 N37 2008
Publication Date: 2008-05-22
A comprehensive and revealing compilation of essays analyzing the varied dimensions of national identities and nationalisms across world regions and through time.
The Routledge Companion to Historical Studies by Alun Munslow