History
Finding Peer-Reviewed Articles
Most of your assignments at the UW will require that you include at least some scholarly, peer reviewed articles. Peer review means the articles were read. commented on and corrected by experts before they were published.
In addition to searching for articles in databases specifically related to History, you may wish to try general-interest, interdisciplinary databases as well, like Academic Search Complete, JSTOR and the ProQuest Platform.
For more detailed information on understanding and using peer-reviewed articles, see the Library's YouTube Channel for a three-part series, Understanding the Scholarly Article:
- Part 1: What is a Scholarly Article?
- Part 2: How Are Scholarly Articles Structured?
- Part 3: Theory and the Scholarly Article.
If you need additional assistance, feel free to email the Librarian for History Michael Dudley at m.dudley@uiwnnipeg.ca.
Course-Specific Databases
- Historical AbstractsHistorical Abstracts is a resource that covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more.
- JSTOR [JSTOR] This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a multidisciplinary collection of peer-reviewed journals, as well as books and primary sources published by various publishers and presses. It contains material across a range of disciplines from the sciences, social sciences and humanities.
- Taylor & Francis Online This link opens in a new windowTaylor & Francis Online is a multidisciplinary collection of peer-reviewed journals published by Taylor & Francis, and also includes imprints like Routledge, Psychology Press, CRC Press and Garland Science. It primarily contains material across a range of disciplines from Social Science and Humanities.
General Databases
- Academic Search Premier
Academic Search Premier is a multi-disciplinary database that offers full-text access to more than 4,600 titles, including 3,900 peer-reviewed journals.
- Oxford Online - Humanities
- Wiley Online
Wiley Online Library offers access to a multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities. This database contains more than 4 million articles from 1,500 journals. The Library has access to most Wiley journal articles published after 1996.
- Proquest Research Library
ProQuest Research Library consists of two components: a core list of periodicals, which covers about 4,000 publications, and fifteen subject-specific modules that supplement the core list. Modules provide coverage of the following areas: arts, business, children, education, general interest, health, humanities, international studies, law, military, multicultural studies, psychology, sciences, social sciences, womenÍs interests.
- Wley Online
Wiley Online Library offers access to a multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities. This database contains more than 4 million articles from 1,500 journals. The Library has access to most Wiley journal articles published after 1996. - SAGE KNowledge
A collection of encyclopedias covering a wide range of subject areas, including anthropology, criminal justice, leadership, governance, homelessness, human geography, politics, psychology, statistics, terrorism, and many more.
Scholarly Journals
- Journal of Global HIstoryJournal of Global History
ISSN: 1740-0228 (Print), 1740-0236 (Online)
Frequency: 3 issues per year
The Journal of Global History is an open access journal that aims to be the leading scholarly outlet for innovative analyses of global historical phenomena. - Past & PresentPast & Present is widely acknowledged to be the liveliest and most stimulating historical journal in the English-speaking world. The journal offers: A wide variety of scholarly and original articles on historical, social and cultural change in all parts of the world.