History

Within Chicago Style, there are two different citation style options: Notes-Bibliography style and Author-Date style.

Notes-Bibliography style uses numbered footnotes in the text to direct the reader to a shortened citation known as a note. Notes can be at the bottom of the page (footnotes) or at the end of the paper (endnotes). Each note corresponds to a fuller citation on a Bibliography page at the end of the paper. Notes-Bibliography style is typically used in humanities disciplines. Section 14 of the Chicago Manual of Style, 17th edition, covers Notes-Bibliography citation.

Author-Date style uses parenthetical citations in the text to reference the source author's last name and the year of publication. Each parenthetical citation corresponds to an entry on a References page at the end of the paper. In this regard, Author-Date style is similar to APA style. Author-Date style is more commonly used in social sciences disciplines. Section 15 of the Chicago Manual of Style, 17th edition, covers Author-Date citation.

If it's not specified in your syllabus or assignment instructions, you may use either style. If you are not sure which one to use for your assignment, ask your instructor.

General formatting: Notes, bibliographies, and reference list entries are always single-spaced. See the Chicago manual (p. 686 and p. 788) for examples.

Adapted from:
Memorial University Libraries

In the Notes-Bibliography system, Notes are usually structured like this: 

1. Author’s first name, last name, title or partial title, (Place of publication: Publisher, Year published), page(s) cited.

Subsequent notes for a given title are then in shortened form: Author's last name, page number.

Example: 
1. David Harvey, The Condition of Postmodernity: An Enquiry into the Origins of Cultural Change (Malden, MA: Blackwell, 1990), 12.

2. Harvey, 12.

Bibliography entries usually contain, in the following order:

• Author/creator information
• Title information
• Publication information (e.g., place of publication, publisher name, and publication date for books; volume and issue numbers for journal articles; URLs for online resources).

Example:
Agamben, Giorgio. Homo Sacer: Sovereign Power and Bare Life. Translated by Daniel Heller-Roazen. Stanford: Stanford University Press, 1998.

Adapted from:
University of Alberta Libraries

In the Author-Date system: In-text citations are usually structured like this: 
(Author’s last name publication date, page(s) cited)

Reference list (Bibliography) entries usually contain, in the following order:

• Author/creator information
• Publication date
• Title information
• Publication information (e.g., place of publication, publisher name, and publication date for books; volume and issue numbers for journal articles; URLs for online resources)

Example:
Agamben, Giorgio. 1998. Homo Sacer: Sovereign Power and Bare Life. Translated by Daniel Heller-Roazen. Stanford: Stanford University Press.

Adapted from:
University of Alberta Libraries