History
Online Encyclopedias
Suggested Subject Headings
Selected Databases
- Alternative Press Index
Provides access to the practices and theories of radical social change, and focuses on socialism, national liberation, labor, indigenous peoples, gays/lesbians, feminism, ecology, democracy, and anarchism.
- Almisbah:
Database providing access to selected Internet resources on the Middle East and on Islam respectively. Websites and online resources on Israel are included only if they are related to the Arab-Israeli conflict. - America: History and Life
America: History & Life is an index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. It indexes 1,700 journals from 1964 to present, and is an important bibliographic reference tool for students and scholars of U.S. and Canadian history.
- Human Rights Search Engine
HuriSearch is a multilingual (77 languages) full-text search engine which crawls 5,000 human rights websites. It is useful for human rights monitors and researchers, students and academics, diplomats and persons working in international organisations, politicians and journalists. Specialized features include searches by organization, language, country of publication, human rights terms as well as any word or phrase found within the full text.
- Online Encyclopedia of Mass Violence
The Online Encyclopedia of Mass Violence provides chronological indexes, case studies, analytical contributions on socio-political violence in a given country, a glossary of the terms most often used in genocide studies, as well as theoretical papers written by the most representative authors in the field.
Institutes
- Arnold A. Saltzman Institute of War and Peace StudiesThe Institute of War and Peace Studies was founded in 1951 under the sponsorship of Dwight D. Eisenhower during his tenure as president of Columbia University. Eisenhower created the Institute to promote an understanding of the "disastrous consequences of war upon man's spiritual, intellectual, and material progress." Under its first director, William T.R. Fox, the Institute became one of the foremost research centers on international relations in the country.
- Institute for War & Peace ReportingIWPR gives voice to people at the frontlines of conflict, crisis and change. From Afghanistan to Zimbabwe, IWPR helps people in the world's most challenging environments have the information they need to drive positive changes in their lives — holding government to account, demanding constructive solutions, strengthening civil society and securing human rights. Amid war, dictatorship, and political transition, IWPR forges the skills and capacity of local journalism, strengthens local media institutions and engages with civil society and governments to ensure that information achieves impact.
- Institute of Pace and Conflict StudiesThe Institute of Peace and Conflict Studies (IPCS), founded in 1996, is a premier South Asian think tank which conducts independent research on and provides an in-depth analysis of conventional and non-conventional issues related to national and South Asian security including nuclear issues, disarmament, non-proliferation, weapons of mass destruction, the war on terrorism, counter terrorism and armed conflict and peace processes in the region.
- International Peace InstituteThe International Peace Institute is an independent, international not-for-profit think tank with a staff representing more than 20 nationalities, located in New York across from United Nations headquarters. IPI is dedicated to promoting the prevention and settlement of conflicts between and within states by strengthening international peace and security institutions. To achieve its purpose, IPI employs a mix of policy research, convening, publishing and outreach.
- Stockholm International Peace Research InstituteSIPRI is an independent international institute dedicated to research into conflict, armaments, arms control and disarmament. Established in 1966, SIPRI provides data, analysis and recommendations, based on open sources, to policymakers, researchers, media and the interested public.
Copyright