Sociolinguistics
Subject Guide
Top Journals
-
Journal of Sociolinguistics "... promotes sociolinguistics as a thoroughly linguistic and thoroughly social-scientific endeavour. The journal is concerned with language in all its dimensions, macro and micro, as formal features or abstract discourses, as situated talk or written text. "
-
Language in Society "... an international journal of sociolinguistics concerned with all branches of speech and language as aspects of social life."
-
Research on Language and Social Interaction "... publishes the highest quality empirical and theoretical research bearing on language as it is used in interaction."
-
Journal of Language and Social Psychology "... the only major journal worldwide devoted to the social psychology of language."
Searching the Databases
Different databses will look different, but they are all designed to help you find Journal Articles. Try searching for your topic keywords. Explore the features that allow you to limit your results by Publication Date, Language, etc.
When you find an article you're interested in, look for a Full-text link (PDF or HTML). If there is no link to the full-text, try using the Find Text button. This will search through our other databases to see if the full-text is available elsewhere. if none of our databases have the full-text, you will have to request an InterLibrary Loan.
-
eHRAF World Cultures This link opens in a new windoweHRAF World Cultures contains ethnographic collections covering all aspects of cultural and social life. eHRAF is unique in having subject indexing at the paragraph level. This allows detailed and precise searching for concepts not easily found with keywords.
-
Open Language Archive Community This link opens in a new window
All linguists are no doubt familiar with the difficulty of finding information relevant to their research. The Open Language Archives Community is dedicated to collecting information about language resources and making it available from a single search.
