Examines the anthropological, sociological, historical, economic, and scientific theories of race and racism in the modem era. Delves into the historic origins of ideas of race and racism and explores their social and scientific consequences. Includes biographies of significant theorists, as well as political and social leaders and notorious racists.
The subject of this encyclopedia is race and ethnicity in society. This is a broad, complex topic that has undergone serious scholarly study for well over a century and was preceded by literary treatments spanning many centuries.
Encyclopedia of Race and Ethnic Studies
by Ellis Cashmore
Call Number: REF GN 495.6 C37 2004
Publication Date: 2003-11-04
This title provides an authoritative reference work on all aspects of race and ethnic studies. From beauty to Richard Wagner, Islamophobia to welfare, the encyclopedia is organized alphabetically and reflects cultural diversity in a global context.
Encyclopedia of Philosophy and the Social Sciences
by Byron Kaldis (Editor)
Call Number: B 63 E53 2013 v. 1-2
Publication Date: 2013-04-02
Dictionary of Race, Ethnicity and Culture
by Guido Bolaffi (Editor); Peter Braham (Editor); Sandro Gindro (Editor); Tullio Tentori (Editor); Raffaele Bracalenti (Editor)
Call Number: Ref GN 495.6 D53 2003
Publication Date: 2002-12-26
Race, ethnicity and culture are concepts that are interpreted in various and often contradictory ways. This Dictionary of Race, Ethnicity and Culture provides the historical background and etymology of a wide number of words related to these concepts, looking at discourses of race, ethnicity and culture from a broadly multicultural perspective. This new and up-to-date dictionary contains numerous references to both European and American concepts, debates and terms. Contributors to the dictionary include well-known anthropologists, biologists, lawyers, philosophers, sociologists and psychologists, enabling the Dictionary to bring an interdisciplinary approach to the subject matter, and a rich variety of voice and content that would otherwise