Representations of Indigeneity
This guide explores the rhetorical representations of Indigenous peoples, focusing on their portrayal in media and popular culture.
Subject Guide
Key Journals
Hover for more info.
-
Canadian Ethnic Studies "... [a] fully refereed, interdisciplinary journal is devoted to the study of ethnicity, immigration, inter-group relations, and the history and cultural life of ethnic groups in Canada."
-
Canadian Journal of Native Studies "As a general focus, the journal publishes anthropological, historical, sociological, political, legal, educational and cultural issues affecting First Nations people. Although the majority of articles deal with Indigenous peoples in Canada, it also publishes articles dealing with Indigenous peoples world-wide."
-
Cultural Survival Quarterly "For nearly 40 years Cultural Survival has partnered with Indigenous communities around the world to help them defend their lands, languages, and cultures."
-
Ethnohistory The official journal of the American Society for Ethnohistory.
-
Historical Journal of Film, Radio, and Television "... an international and interdisciplinary journal concerned with the history of the audio-visual mass media from c.1900 to the present."
-
Journal of Popular Film and Television "... the leading scholarly publication for sociocultural analyses of films and television programming."
-
Rhetoric Review Publishes in all areas of rhetoric and writing and provides a professional forum for its readers to consider and discuss current topics and issues. (ulrichsweb)
-
Rhetoric Society Quarterly "... the official journal of the Rhetoric Society of America, features original articles on all areas of rhetorical studies including theory, history, criticism, and pedagogy."
-
Wicazo Sa "... provides inquiries into the Indian past and its relationship to the vital present. Its aim is to become an interdisciplinary instrument to assist indigenous peoples of the Americas in taking possession of their own intellectual and creative pursuits."
Key Databases
-
JSTOR [JSTOR] This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a multidisciplinary collection of peer-reviewed journals, as well as books and primary sources published by various publishers and presses. It contains material across a range of disciplines from the sciences, social sciences and humanities.
-
Alternative Press Index (API) [EBSCOhost] This link opens in a new windowAlternative Press Index (API) is a bibliographic database of journal, newspaper, and magazine articles from international alternative, radical, and left periodicals. It focuses on socialism, national liberation, labor, indigenous peoples, gays/lesbians, feminism, ecology, democracy, and anarchism. Born of the New Left, it is both international and interdisciplinary, and provides access to the emerging theories and practices of radical social change.
-
MLA International Bibliography [EBSCOhost] This link opens in a new windowThe MLA (Modern Languages Association) database is a classified listing and subject index of scholarly books and articles on modern languages, literatures, folklore and linguistics.
-
Project MUSE Premium This link opens in a new windowProject MUSE is a multidisciplinary collection of peer-reviewed journals published by university presses and scholarly societies. It contains material across a range of disciplines from the social sciences and humanities.
-
Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America [EBSCOhost] This link opens in a new window
Formerly the Bibliography of Native North Americans (BNNA).
Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America is a bibliographic database covering all aspects of native North American culture, history, and life. This resource covers a wide range of topics including archaeology, multicultural relations, gaming, governance, legend, and literacy. It contains citations dating from the sixteenth century to the present for books, essays, journal articles, and government documents of the United States and Canada. -
Indigenous Studies Portal (iPortal) This link opens in a new windowThe Indigenous Studies Portal (iPortal) is a database of full-text electronic resources such as articles, e-books, theses, government publications, videos, oral histories, and digitized archival documents and photographs. The iPortal content has a primary focus on Indigenous peoples of Canada with a secondary focus on North American materials and beyond. Anyone can use the freely available materials in the iPortal but some resources are licensed and may only be available from your own library.
