Rhetoric of Medicine
This research guide provides a comprehensive resource for exploring the public discourse surrounding medicine, health, and wellness, as well as their representations in media and popular culture.
Subject Guide
Key Journals
- Anthropology and Medicine ... dedicated to publishing papers that examine medicine, health and illness in an anthropological context. This broad field reflects the journal’s commitment to interdisciplinary research on the interrelationship between culture and health.
- Journal of Medicine and Philosophy ... the flagship scholarly journal in bioethics and the philosophy of medicine.
- Journal of the History of Medicine and Allied Sciences ... focuses on what practitioners of the healing arts did or taught, and how their peers, as well as patients, received and interpreted their efforts.
- Medical Anthropology ... provides a global forum for scholarly articles on the social patterns of ill-health and disease transmission, and experiences of and knowledge about health, illness and wellbeing.
- Medical Anthropology Quarterly ... publishes research and theory in all areas of medical anthropology. Its goal is to stimulate development of important theory, methods, and debates in medical anthropology and to explore the links between medical anthropology, the broader field of anthropology, and neighboring fields in the humanities, social sciences, and health-related disciplines, including public health and clinical medicine.
- Medical Humanities ... features original articles relevant to the delivery of healthcare, the formulation of public health policy, the experience of being ill and of caring for those who are ill, as well as case conferences, educational case studies, book, film, and art reviews, editorials, correspondence, news and notes.
- Science Communication .. an international, interdisciplinary social science journal that examines the nature of expertise, the diffusion of knowledge, and the communication of science and technology among professionals and to the public.
- Social History of Medicine ... concerned with all aspects of health, illness, and medical treatment in the past. It is committed to publishing work on the social history of medicine from a variety of disciplines.
- Social Science and Medicine ... provides an international and interdisciplinary forum for the dissemination of social science research on health.
Key Databases
- MLA International Bibliography [EBSCOhost] This link opens in a new windowThe MLA (Modern Languages Association) database is a classified listing and subject index of scholarly books and articles on modern languages, literatures, folklore and linguistics.
- JSTOR [JSTOR] This link opens in a new windowJSTOR is a multidisciplinary collection of peer-reviewed journals, as well as books and primary sources published by various publishers and presses. It contains material across a range of disciplines from the sciences, social sciences and humanities.
- Google ScholarUse Google Scholar to find articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web.
- Project MUSE Premium This link opens in a new windowProject MUSE is a multidisciplinary collection of peer-reviewed journals published by university presses and scholarly societies. It contains material across a range of disciplines from the social sciences and humanities.