Library Help Chat Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Michael Dudley: Staff Page: Publications

Staff page

Publications

Books

Public Libraries and Resilient Cities (Chicago: ALA Editions, 2012 [as editor]).

City Planning as Ideology and Practice: Selected Speeches by Dr. Earl A. Levin. (Winnipeg, MB Institute of Urban Studies, 2011 [as editor]).

Book Chapters

“Cinema and the ‘City of the Mind’: Using Motion Pictures to Explore Human-Environment Transactions in Planning Education,” in L. Sandercock & G. Attili (eds.) Multimedia Explorations in Urban Policy and Planning: Beyond the Flatlands (New York, NY: Springer, 2010): 265-286.

“Blogging: Writing Op-Eds,” in C. Smallwood (ed). Writing and Publishing: The Librarians’ Handbook (Chicago, IL: The American Library Association, 2010): 137-139.: Beyond the Flatlands (New York, NY: Springer, 2010): 265-286.

Peer Reviewed Articles

"Liberating Knowledge at the Margins: Towards a Discursive-Transactional Research Paradigm in LIS." Canadian Journal of Academic Librarianship 5 (May 2019),

""Multi-Dimensional Cultural Safety in Academic Libraries." Canadian Journal of Academic Librarianship 4  (February 2019).

"A Library Matter of Genocide: The Library of Congress and the Historiography of the Native American Holocaust." The International Indigenous Policy Journal 8 (2) (2017).

“Knowledge Ill-Inhabited: The Subjugation of Post-Stratfordian Scholarship in Academic Libraries.” The Oxfordian XVII (2015). Available for purchase on Amazon; available at WinnSpace.

Nelson, Geoffrey, Eric Macnaughton, Paula Goering, Michael Dudley, Patricia O’Campo, Michelle Patterson, Myra Piat, Natasha Prévost, Verena Strehlau, Catherine Vallée. “Collaboration and Involvement of Persons with Lived Experience in Planning Canada’s At Home/Chez Soi Project.” Health & Social Care in the Community, 2015.

"By Nature Fram'd to Wear a Crown? Decolonizing the Shakespeare Authorship Question." Brief Chronicles 5 (2014): 11-30. Available on WinnSpace.

Nelson, Geoffrey, Eric Macnaughton, Paula Goering, Michael Dudley, Patricia O’Campo, Michelle Patterson, Myra Piat, Natasha Prévost, Verena Strehlau, Catherine Vallée. “Planning a Multi-site, Complex Intervention for Homeless People with Mental Illness: The Relationships Between the National Team and Local Sites in Canada’s At Home/Chez Soi Project.” American Journal of Community Psychology 51(3-4): 347-58. (2013). doi: 10.1007/s10464-012-9554-2.

“Cold War, Hot Climate: City Planning in Times of Crisis,” Comparative Civilization Review 61 (2009): 147-161.

“Revisiting Cold War Ideology in the Secure City: Towards a Political Economy of Urbicide,” Theory & Event 10 (2), (2007): [online].

“Sprawl as Strategy: City Planners Face the Bomb," Journal of Planning Education and Research 21 (1): 52-63 (2001). 

Books

Books

Public Libraries and Resilient Cities (Chicago: ALA Editions, 2012 [as editor]). In Approaches to Liaison Librarianship: Innovations in Organization and Engagement edited by Robin Canuel and Chad Crichton. Chicago: ALA Editions.

City Planning as Ideology and Practice: Selected Speeches by Dr. Earl A. Levin. (Winnipeg, MB Institute of Urban Studies, 2011 [as editor]).

Book Chapters

"Uncovering Indigenous Knowledge at the Cultural Interface: Liaison-led Initiatives to Decolonize Academic Library Collections." In Approaches to Liaison Librarianship: Innovations in Organization and Engagement edited by Robin Canuel and Chad Chrichton. [With April Blackbird]. Chicago, ACRL, 2021.

"With Swinish Phrase Soiling Their Addition: Epistemic Injustice, Academic Freedom, and the Shakespeare Authorship Question.” In Patrick Blessinger and Enakshi Sengupta (Eds.), Teaching and Learning Practices for Academic Freedom (Innovations in Higher Education Teaching and Learning, Volume 34). Bingley, UK: Emerald Group Publishing Limited, 2020: pp. 123–144.

“Cinema and the ‘City of the Mind’: Using Motion Pictures to Explore Human-Environment Transactions in Planning Education,” in L. Sandercock & G. Attili (eds.) Multimedia Explorations in Urban Policy and Planning: Beyond the Flatlands (New York, NY: Springer, 2010: 265-286.

“Blogging: Writing Op-Eds,” in C. Smallwood (ed). Writing and Publishing: The Librarians’ Handbook (Chicago, IL: The American Library Association, 2010): 137-139.: Beyond the Flatlands (New York, NY: Springer, 2010: 265-286.

Encyclopedia Entries

“Eco-Fascism”; “Mega-Cities”; “Political Ideology”; “Suburban Sprawl”; “Urban Planning”; “Wise Use Movement,” in P. Robbins, D. Mulvaney & J.G. Golson (Eds), Green Politics: An A-Z Guide. (Thousand Oaks, CA: SAGE, 2010).

“Location Efficient Mortgages”; “District Energy”; “Resilience,” in N. Cohen, (Ed). Green Cities: An A-Z Guide, (Thousand Oaks, CA: SAGE, 2010).

“Sustainable Development,” in R. Hutchison (Ed.) Encyclopedia of Urban Studies. (Thousand Oaks, CA: SAGE, 2010).

Encyclopedia Articles

“Eco-Fascism”; “Mega-Cities”; “Political Ideology”; “Suburban Sprawl”; “Urban Planning”; “Wise Use Movement,” in P. Robbins, D. Mulvaney & J.G. Golson (Eds), Green Politics: An A-Z Guide. (Thousand Oaks, CA: SAGE, 2010).

“Location Efficient Mortgages”; “District Energy”; “Resilience,” in N. Cohen, (Ed). Green Cities: An A-Z Guide, (Thousand Oaks, CA: SAGE, 2010).

“Sustainable Development,” in R. Hutchison (Ed.) Encyclopedia of Urban Studies. (Thousand Oaks, CA: SAGE, 2010).

"Native North Americans and Energy Development" [Unpublished entry for cancelled SAGE publication Encyclopedia of Energy and the Environment]. The Decolonized Librarian  https://decolonizedlibrarian.wordpress.com/2015/07/09/native-north-americans-and-energy-development/

Alternet Film Essays

“‘Moon’: New Sci-Fi Movie Indicts Our Culture of Exploitation,” July 22, 2009.

“Battlestar Galactica: Immersion Therapy for Post 9/11 World,” March 25th, 2009.

“America Is a Dangerous Vigilante, Heroes Are Sociopaths: The Not-So-Mythical World of ‘Watchmen’”, March 12th,2009.

“Batman’s Take on 9/11 Era Politics? Drop the Fearmongering,” July 25th, 2008.

“WALL-E: A World Without Us,” July 1st, 2008.

“Indiana Jones and the Fridge of Nuclear Doom,” May 28th, 2008.

Op-Eds and Features

"Exploring Worldviews and Authorities: Library Instruction in Indigenous Studies and Gender Studies Using Authority is Constructed and Contextual," College & Research Library News 81 (2) (February 2020), 66-69.

"Becoming an Oxfordian: The Phenomenology of Shifting Research Paradigms in Shakespearean Biography ," The DeVere Society Newsletter Fall 2018. Available at WinnSpace

"How I Became an Oxfordian" The Shakespeare Oxford Fellowship, May 17th 2016.

"Shakespeare's 'Infinite Book of Secrecy': National Tour Explores the Significance and Mysteries of the First Folio." American Libraries, December 11th 2015.

"Federal Library Closures and the Harper Government’s “Monoculture of the Mind.” Partnership: the Canadian Journal of Library and Information Practice and Research 9 (1), 2014.

"My Library was Dukedom Large Enough: Academic Libraries Mediating the Shakespeare Authorship Debate.” Partnership: the Canadian Journal of Library and Information Practice and Research 8 (2), 2013.

"The Garden City at "The World's End". Planetizen September 3rd, 2014. http://www.planetizen.caom/node/64946.

"The Costs of Denial: Oil, Climate Change and Canada's Disastrous Summer of 2013." Plan Canada 53 (3), (2013), 16-19.

“Lessons from Canada’s Summer of Sorrow.” Planetizen July 16th 2013.

“The Curious Case of Academic Publishing.” Partnership: the Canadian Journal of Library and Information Practice and Research 8 (1), (2013).

“The ‘Future’ of Plan Canada.” Plan Canada 53 (1), 9-11.

“Planning Journals: Between Orthodoxy and Contrarianism in Challenging Times. Plan Canada 52 (3), 1-12.

“The End of an Era for Canadian Planning Information.” Plan Canada 52 (2) (2012): 12-15.

“Plan Canada as a ‘Tool for Change’” Plan Canada 52 (1), (2012): 11-13.

“Planning As An ‘Occupation’” Plan Canada 51 (4), pp. 9-11.

“The Resilient City — Ten Years After” Plan Canada 51 (3) (2011), 15-17.

“Between Utopia and an Urban Nation,” Plan Canada 51 (2) (2011): 11-13.

“Plan Canada and the Need for Civility in Planning Discourse,” Plan Canada 51 (1) (2011): 10-13.

“The ‘Propaganda Model of News’ and the Critical Response to Anonymous.” Shakespeare’s Bible

“Planning in a Changing Climate,” Plan Canada 50 (4), (2010): 12-13.

“Two Eruptions, One Warning.” Curb Magazine 1.2, (2010): 6-7.

“Being ‘Sweet’ to Bicycles Benefits Everybody.” Winnipeg Free Press, October 9th (2010): H12

Copyright

Databases Terms of Use