Refugees and Forced Migration

This guide is your starting point for exploring the vast landscape of research related to refugees and forced migration.

Key Journals

Journal of Refugee Studies "... provides a forum for exploration of the complex problems of forced migration and national, regional and international responses. The Journal covers all categories of forcibly displaced people."
Journal of Immigrant and Refugee Studies "... explores the effects of worldwide migration. The range of opportunities offered across the globe as well as traumas caused by war, revolutions, famine, terrorism, and economic difficulties have seen the movements of thousands of people who have left their homes, migrating either across regions or across borders."
International Journal of Refugee Law "... an essential tool for academics, policymakers and practitioners concerned with the protection of refugees and other forced migrants."

Alternative Press Index (API) [EBSCOhost] This link opens in a new window
Alternative Press Index (API) is a bibliographic database of journal, newspaper, and magazine articles from international alternative, radical, and left periodicals. It focuses on socialism, national liberation, labor, indigenous peoples, gays/lesbians, feminism, ecology, democracy, and anarchism. Born of the New Left, it is both international and interdisciplinary, and provides access to the emerging theories and practices of radical social change.
Sociological Abstracts [ProQuest] This link opens in a new window
Sociological Abstracts covers the international literature of sociology, social work, and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. It provides abstracting and indexing of articles and book reviews from serials publications, plus books, book chapters, dissertations, conference papers, and working papers.
Peace Research Abstracts [EBSCOhost] This link opens in a new window
Peace Research Abstracts includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to peace research, including conflict resolution, international affairs, peace psychology, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.