Climate Change
Search the Reference Collection
The reference collection is a great place to begin your research. These short relevant articles will give the basic understanding you need to formulate a good research question.
Dictionaries & Encyclopedias
Encyclopedia of Global Warming & Climate Change by ISBN: 9781412992626Publication Date: 2012"... a multi-authored, academic yet non-technical resource for students and teachers to understand the importance of global warming, to appreciate the effects of human activity and greenhouse gases around the world, and to learn the history of climate change and the research enterprise examining it."
Climate Change by ISBN: 9781414436142Publication Date: 2008"... coverage of the history, politics, and ethical debates related to climate change, including the impact of climate change on daily life, trade and commerce, travel, and the future of both industrialized and impoverished nations."
Encyclopedia of Sustainability Science and Technology by Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9780387894690Publication Date: 2012"The Encyclopedia of Sustainability Science and Technology (ESST) addresses the grand challenge for science and engineering today. It provides unprecedented, peer-reviewed coverage in more than 550 separate entries comprising 38 topical sections."
Interdisciplinary Encyclopedia Articles
- Green Health: An A-Z Guide"Most scientific studies indicate that health will be significantly affected by climate change and climate variability, generating increases of endemic diseases and emergence and reemergence of communicable or transmissible diseases..."
- Science and Politics: An A-to-Z Guide to Issues and Controversies"Given the scope and scale of climate change, effective steps to mitigate impacts (reduce sources or enhance sinks of greenhouse gases) will have major economic and political consequences. And, as with any scientific issue as complex as climate change, there are built-in uncertainties as well as underdeveloped methods for predicting future changes in climate. Together, these forces have combined in a fierce political battle regarding policy response to climate change."
- Green Ethics and Philosophy: An A-to-Z Guide"Climate change has been characterized as the “greatest moral challenge of our time.” While the causes and impacts of climate change are now broadly understood, comparatively little attention has been directed toward the ethical challenges posed by climate change or to how the values, beliefs, and ethics of human societies drive the various actions that contribute to climate change."
- Green Cities: An A-to-Z Guide"Anthropogenic (human-caused) climate change will seriously test our ability to plan and manage cities. Taken-for-granted urban institutions such as housing, industries, schools, hospitals, and transport systems will all likely be affected."