Climate Change

• ICPSR Data Lumos   
  • Department of Education datasets (campus safety, equity in athletics, college scorecard)
  • Census data
  • Youth risk surveys
  • American Housing Survey (AHS) backup
  • Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) backups
  • Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) backup (FEMA Index)
  • Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMSHA) backup 
  • Institute of Museum and Library Services (IMLS)
  • Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD)

     Note: Also accepts deposit.

• Internet Archive
  • US Government End of Term Webcrawls: https://archive.org/details/EndOfTerm2024WebCrawls
  • CDC Dataset Archive: https://archive.org/details/20250128-cdc-datasets
• End of Term Web Archive 
  • 2024 EOT data pending (02/10/2025)
  • National Centre for Missing and Exploited Children (NCMEC) included in web archiving efforts 
• Harvard's Library Innovation Lab Team Data.gov Archive:
  • Data.gov back up (16TB, shallow crawl of directly linked files)
• Harvard's Climate Change & Health Research Coordinating Centre (CAFE) 
  • EJScreen
  • EPA Outdoor Air Quality
  • CDC Social Vulnerability Index
  • TRI basic data
  • National Air Emissions
  • IRS Migration Data
• IPUMS:
  • Census and survey data from around the world, including ACS, Current Population Survey microdata and Decennial Census data, Democratic and Healthy Survey (older data)
• Environmental Data & Governance Initiative (EDGI)
  • Climate and Economic Justice Screening Tool backup
  • National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA) backup: Data rescue project underway (02/20/2025)
  • National Institute of Standards & Technology (NIST) backup: Data rescue project underway (02/20/2025)
• Public Environmental Data Partners

  • CDC’s Social Vulnerability Index and Environmental Justice Index

  • Council on Environmental Quality EJScorecard

  • Climate and Economic Justice Screening Tool

• NOAA CO2 data may be down, a back up is at: https://scrippsco2.ucsd.edu/graphics_gallery/mauna_loa_record/
• HRSA' Area Health Resource Files 2000-2023: Opioid distribution, demographics, healthcare supply, and healthcare access
• PubMed Preprints, speculative: depending on how harvesting works, there is the possibility that preprints from US PubMed Central that have been pulled may still be available on Europe PMC.
• Public Data github - back ups from Department of Education, globalchange.gov, climate.gov, NOAA sea level data, and NIH project data
• Safeguarding Data - backups of OSHA data, National Library of Medicine Digital Collections "Tuskegee" & "racism", Academia.edu results for LGBTQIA+ issues, "racial disparities", accessibility, & more.

• Data Rescue 2025 - a joint effort of RDAP, Data Curation Network, IASSIST, and more for updated info: https://www.datarescueproject.org/about-data-rescue-project/ 
• Silencing Science Tracker - Joint initiative of the Sabin Center for Climate Change Law and the Climate Science Legal Defense Fund. Tracks government attempts to restrict or prohibit scientific research, education or discussion, or the publication or use of scientific information.

As well as the removal of US government websites, new directives in the US apparently are asking federal researchers to remove previously published datasets and preprints on subjects including gender, HIV, pregnancy, and LGBTQ+ issues.

https://www.reuters.com/world/us/us-cdc-orders-pullback-new-scientific-papers-involving-its-researchers-source-2025-02-02/

More on the background: https://www.404media.co/archivists-work-to-identify-and-save-the-thousands-of-datasets-disappearing-from-data-gov/.

NSF grants with a broad range of terms including diversity, people of colour, women, “broadening participation” language, foreign assistance, climate science, domestic energy, and anything "DEI related" appear to be under review. https://www.nature.com/articles/d41586-025-00365-z

While researchers, librarians, and archivists have been working around the clock to preserve access to this historical record of research and data, if you rely on this data for your work you are strongly urged to download key datasets/ research works.

If they are Openly licensed, you actually can ensure access for others by uploading to Zenodo, which is a free repository run by CERN. The Library may be able to preserve websites facing the threat of removal via our institutional subscription to ArchiveIt.  Email your subject librarian to nominate a site for preservation. Safeguarding Research are also identifying data in need of safeguarding, and working to develop best practices. More information on Data Rescue Efforts can be found at the Google Doc: https://docs.google.com/document/d/15ZRxHqbhGDHCXo7Hqi_Vcy4Q50ZItLblIFaY3s7LBLw/edit?tab=t.0

Follow Data Rescue 2025, a joint effort of RDAP, Data Curation Network, IASSIST, and more for updated info: https://bsky.app/profile/datarescue2025.bsky.social

Tools

from: https://docs.google.com/document/d/15ZRxHqbhGDHCXo7Hqi_Vcy4Q50ZItLblIFaY3s7LBLw/edit?tab=t.0

• Data Management Checklist (from MIT)
  • Checklist to assist with curating data rescue efforts.
• WebRecorder.net 
  • According to an email: has archived 8TB+ of government sites, some from the End-of-Term-Archive seed list, some from EDGI Slack requests, and many sites independently 
• ArchiveBox.io 
  • According to an email: has also archived government datasets from data.gov, CIBP, USCIS, NOAA, NASA, NSIDC, and more
• Awesome-datahoarding 
  • Provides a list of tools for web harvesting, etc. 
• DataRescue Workflow
  • This is the workflow from the original data rescue/DataRefuge project in 2017. 
  • Many of the tools are no longer working, but the workflow is still useful. UW used this to create their workflow above.
  • The challenge with the original project was where to store and how to make discoverable the large amounts of data captured. 
  • There is a CKAN instance with some of the 2017 data.
• https://govdiff.com/ 
  • Tool created by Jerome Paulos to show side-by-side changes in government website

Additionally, Union of Concerned Scientists (US) has produced Resources for Federal Scientists, including Guides for responding to personal attacks, defending science for the public good, handling political harassment, and safeguarding online communications.

Want a zine on DIY WebArchiving? Here is a zine on DIY WebArchiving! https://zinebakery.com/homemade-zines/bakeshop-2-diywebarchiving